(R-2000-1133)

RESOLUTION NUM	IBER R 292889
A DODTED ON	APR 1 0 2000

A RESOLUTION DECLARING THE RESULTS OF THE MUNICIPAL PRIMARY ELECTION HELD IN THE CITY OF SAN DIEGO ON MARCH 7, 2000.

WHEREAS, a municipal primary election was held in the City of San Diego on Tuesday, March 7, 2000, pursuant to the provisions of Ordinance No. O-18713 (New Series), for the purpose of nominating candidates and, if any candidate received a majority of all votes cast, for the purpose of electing that candidate; and

WHEREAS, a copy of the certificate of the Registrar of Voters of San Diego County canvassing the returns of the municipal primary election, as certified to the City Clerk, has been duly received; and

WHEREAS, a canvass of this election has been completed and the City Clerk has certified the results to the City Council; NOW, THEREFORE,

BE IT RESOLVED, by the Council of The City of San Diego, that the Council finds and determines, pursuant to the provisions of Section 27.0411 of the San Diego Municipal Code, as follows:

I

The whole number of votes cast in the City was 292,904.

II

The total vote received by each candidate at the municipal primary election is as follows:

A. FOR MAYOR (four-year term)

RON ROBERTS	69,059
DICK MURPHY	42,103
PETER Q. DAVIS	41,937
BARBARA WARDEN	40,716
GEORGE STEVENS	27,983
BYRON WEAR	24,214
JIM BELL	0.770
JIWI BELL	8,779
JANICE JORDAN	5,370
	•
JANICE JORDAN	5,370
JANICE JORDAN LOCH DAVID CRANE	5,370

RON ROBERTS and DICK MURPHY are hereby declared to be the candidates for the office of Mayor in the general municipal election.

B. FOR CITY ATTORNEY (four-year term)

CASEY GWINN

139,620

CASEY GWINN having received a majority of all votes cast is hereby declared elected to the office of City Attorney.

C. FOR COUNCIL DISTRICT NO. 1 (four-year term)

LINDA DAVIS

11,342

SCOTT PETERS

8,380

LISA ROSS	7,971
PAUL KENNERSON	4,059
JIM RYAN	3,312

LINDA DAVIS and SCOTT PETERS are hereby declared to be the candidates for the office of Councilmember, District No. 1, in the general municipal election.

D. FOR COUNCIL DISTRICT NO. 3 (four-year term)

TONI ATKINS	12,041
JOHN HARTLEY	8,051
GERRI STRYKER	2,153
STEVEN MCWILLIAMS	1,896
DANIEL BEEMAN	1,045

TONI ATKINS and JOHN HARTLEY are hereby declared to be the candidates for the office of Councilmember, District No. 3, in the general municipal election.

E. FOR COUNCIL DISTRICT NO. 5 (four-year term)

BRIAN MAIENSCHEIN	12,047
TOM CLEARY	9,613
KAREN MCELLIOTT	6,598
EDWARD M. TEYSSIER	2,127
GARY WAAYERS	1,539
LARRY W. HILLMAN	1,525

LEONOR E. YRACHETA 1,438

BRIAN MAIENSCHEIN and TOM CLEARY are hereby declared to be the candidates for the office of Councilmember, District No. 5, in the general municipal election.

F. FOR COUNCIL DISTRICT NO. 7 (four-year term)

JIM MADAFFER

13,383

DEANNA SPEHN

19,178

MARK RAWLINS

6,749

JIM MADAFFER and DEANNA SPEHN are hereby declared to be the candidates for the office of Councilmember, District No. 7, in the general municipal election.

III

The number of votes in each precinct cast for each person is recorded in the Election Returns Book, which book is a part of the records of this Council.

IV

The City Clerk shall make public the results of the canvass of the municipal primary election by publication of a copy of this resolution.

APPROVED: CASEY GWINN, City Attorney

Cristle C. McGu

Deputy City Attorney

CCM:jrl

03/29/00

Or.Dept:Clerk

R-2000-1133

Form=r-t.frm

R- 292889