104 2-28-06 (R-2006-738) 0F16,

RESOLUTION NUMBER R- 301261

DATE OF FINAL PASSAGE MAR 1 4 2006

WHEREAS, the Commission for Arts and Culture is established in San Diego Municipal Code section 26.0703 to advise the Mayor, City Council, and City Manager on promoting, encouraging, and increasing support for arts and culture, as well as to encourage the preservation and augmentation of the City of San Diego's cultural and artistic resources, and to ensure that the City's increasing urbanization is offset by the creation of artworks and venues dedicated to artistic performances, exhibitions, and cultural events; and

WHEREAS, the Municipal Code provides that the Commission shall consist of fifteen members appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the City Council who represent the following: individual artists, arts and culture patrons, educators, the business community, those with professional qualifications and experience or knowledge of a particular arts and culture field, and the general public; and

WHEREAS, there will be nine vacancies on the Commission for Arts and Culture due to the expired terms of Vivian Reznik, Josephine Briggs, Iris Strauss, and Vicki Estrada, each of which expired on August 31, 2004; the expired terms of Claire Anderson, Courtney Ann Coyle, Aida M. Mancillas, and Dr. Joyce M. Gattas, each of which expired on August 31, 2005; and the resignation of Steven L. Miller, whose term expires August 31, 2006; NOW, THEREFORE

BE IT RESOLVED, by the Council of the City of San Diego, that the following appointments and reappointments by the Mayor of the City of San Diego, to serve as members of the Commission on Arts and Culture, for terms ending as indicated, be and the same are hereby confirmed:

<u>NAME</u>	TERM ENDING
Judy McDonald	August 31, 2006
(Kensington, District 3)	
(Replacing Vivian Reznik, whose term expired)	
Garet Clark	August 31, 2006
(Mission Hills, District 2)	
(Replacing Josephine Briggs, whose term expired)	
Thomas DiZinno	August 31, 2006
(Bankers Hill, District 2)	
(Replacing Steven L. Miller, who has resigned)	
Victoria Reed	August 31, 2006
(La Jolla, District 1)	
(Replacing Iris Strauss, whose term expired)	
Colette Carson-Royston	August 31, 2006
(La Jolla, District 1)	
(Replacing Vicki Estrada, whose term expired)	
Claire Anderson	August 31, 2007
(San Carlos, District 7)	
(Reappointment)	
Courtney Ann Coyle	August 31, 2007
(La Jolla, District 1)	
(Reappointment)	
Aida M. Mancillas	August 31, 2007
(North Park, District 3)	
(Reappointment)	
Dr. Joyce M. Gattas	August 31, 2007
(Bankers Hill, District 2)	
(Reappointment)	

APPROVED: MICHAEL J. AGUIRRE, City Attorney

Ву

Stephanie Rahlfs
Deputy City Attorney

R- 301261

SR:jb 02/23/2006 Or.Dept:Mayor R-2006-738

301261