

## RESOLUTION NUMBER R- 301803 DATE OF FINAL PASSAGE <u>AUG - 5 2006</u>

WHEREAS, La Jolla Music Society SummerFest has evolved from a small, local summer music event into a prestigious and innovative chamber music festival bringing the highest quality of chamber music to our community by providing concerts and recitals, featuring outstanding guest artists of international stature as well as local and talented young soloists and attracts music lovers far and wide to San Diego; and

WHEREAS, over the past twenty years, SummerFest has involved more than 550 artists and ensembles, four talented artistic directors, and millions of audience members at its concerts and through the radio on National Public Radio; and

WHEREAS, La Jolla Music Society SummerFest's artist roster has featured some of the greatest classical musicians such as Yo-Yo Ma, Emmanuel Ax, Yefim Bronfman, Leon Fleisher, Janos Starker, André Watts, Gil Shaham, Garrick Ohlsson, Heiichiro Ohyama, David Finckel, Wu Han, Cho-Liang Lin, and St. Lawrence String Quartet; and

WHEREAS, La Jolla Music Society SummerFest has featured leading composers in residence such as John Adams, Osvaldo Golijov, Esa-Pekka Solonen, Tan Dun, Joan Tower, August Read Thomas, Bright Sheng, André Previn, and Chick Corea; and

WHEREAS, La Jolla Music Society SummerFest has featured prominent visual artists such as Daly Chihuly, Italo Scanga, Stephen P. Curry, Caio Fonseca, Madelynne Engle, Gail Ohyama, and Manny Farber; and

WHEREAS, La Jolla Music Society SummerFest, a leader in commissioning new works, looks to the future with a record-breaking six premieres of new commissioned works, as well as great jazz and dance performances; NOW, THEREFORE,

BE IT RESOLVED, by the Council of the City of San Diego, that this Council, for and on behalf of the people of San Diego, does hereby proclaim Thursday, August 3, 2006,

"LA JOLLA MUSIC SOCIETY SUMMERFEST DAY" in San Diego for its significant contributions to San Diego's artistic and cultural identity for twenty years.

APPROVED: MICHAEL J. AGUIRRE, City Attorney

By Catherine M. Bradley

Chief Deputy City Attorney

CMB:jab 07/07/2006 **Or.Dept:Council President Peters** R-2007-15

I hereby certify that the foregoing Resolution was passed by the Council of the City of San Diego, at this meeting of \_\_\_\_\_\_\_

ELIZABETH S. MALAT City Clerl

Deputy City Clerk

JERRY SANDERS, Mayor

Approved:

Vetoed:

(date)

JERRY SANDERS, Mayor

-PAGE 2 OF 2-

