RESOLUTION NUMBER R- 303363

DATE OF FINAL PASSAGE FEB 1 1 2008

WHEREAS, the Historical Resources Board [HRB] was established in 1965 by the City Council in accordance with City Charter section 43; and

WHEREAS, in 1985, the City of San Diego became a Certified Local Government [CLG] pursuant to the National Historic Preservation Act Section 101(c) for its implementation of a local historical preservation program based on federal and state standards; and

WHEREAS, the CLG program makes the City of San Diego eligible for various benefits including eligibility for a share in the state's Annual Historic Preservation Fund; and

WHEREAS, the CLG program requires that the City of San Diego establish a qualified preservation review commission under local law, which is to be comprised of a minimum of five members, all having a demonstrated interest, competence, or knowledge of historic preservation; and

WHEREAS, the City of San Diego has granted authority to its preservation review commission, the HRB, under San Diego Municipal Code, Land Development Code section 111.0206, which establishes an 11-member Board, with each member appointed by the Mayor and subject to confirmation by the City Council; and

WHEREAS, the San Diego Municipal Code provides that each member shall serve a two-year term without compensation and shall continue to serve until a successor is appointed; and

WHEREAS, the San Diego Municipal Code provides that no member shall serve more than four consecutive terms; the members shall be appointed so that the terms of not more than six members will expire in any year; and the expiration date of all terms of appointment shall be March 1; and

WHEREAS, the San Diego Municipal Code states that the Mayor may designate one member as Chairperson during March of each year. If the Mayor has not designated a chairperson by April 15, the Board shall elect a Chairperson from among its members; and

WHEREAS, the San Diego Municipal Code provides that at least one Board member shall be appointed from among professionals in each of the following disciplines, as required to meet the "Certified Local Government" criteria of the State Office of Historic Preservation, as established by the National Historic Preservation Act: architecture, history, architectural history, archaeology, and landscape architecture. Other members appointed may have experience or background in law, real estate, engineering, general contracting, finance, planning, or fine arts and should reflect diverse neighborhood representation and have demonstrated a special interest in historical preservation. No more than three owners of designated historical resources shall serve at any time; NOW, THEREFORE,

BE IT RESOLVED, by the Council of the City of San Diego, that the following appointments and reappointments by the Mayor of the City of San Diego to serve as members of the Historical Resources Board, for terms ending as indicated, be and the same are hereby confirmed:

NAME	CATEGORY	TERM ENDING
Gail Garbini	Landscape	March 1, 2009
(Talmadge, District 3)	Architecture	
(Replacing Laura Burnett, who is termed out)		
Paul Johnson	Architectural	March 1, 2009
(Bankers Hill, District 2)	History	
(Replacing Don Harrison, who has resigned)		,
	<u> </u>	-1
John Lemmo	Law (Chair)	March 1, 2010
(Mission Valley, District 6)		
(Replacing Robert Vacchi, who has resigned)		,
Priscilla Ann Berge	History	March 1, 2009
(Kensington, District 3)		
(Reappointment)		
Abel Silvas	General Member	March 1, 2009
(Pacific Beach, District 2)		
(Reappointment)		
Dr. Jerry Schaefer	Archeology	March 1, 2009
(Normal Heights, District 3)		
(Reappointment)		· .
		1

APPROVED: MICHAEL J. AGUIRRE, City Attorney

Ву Sharon B. Spivak /

Deputy City Attorney

SBS:als 01/15/08 Or.Dept:Mayor R-2008-589

I hereby certify that the foregoing Resolution was passed by the Council of the City of San Diego, at this meeting of <u>JAN 2 9 2008</u>.

ELIZABETH S. MALAND

City Clerk

Deputy City Clerk

Approved: 2.11.66 (date)

Vetoed: _____(date)

JERRY SANDERS, Mayor

JERRY SANDERS, Mayor