RESOLUTION NUMBER R- 304125

DATE OF FINAL PASSAGE SEP 2 3 2008

WHEREAS, the San Diego City Council adopted an ordinance, codified at San Diego Municipal Code section 26.16, establishing the Citizens Equal Opportunity Commission; and

WHEREAS, section 26.16 provides that the Commission monitor and/or evaluate the City's Equal Opportunity Program, advise the Mayor, City Council, Civil Service Commission and other appropriate agencies; submit written quarterly reports for review by the City Council's Rules Committee and City Council; assist in recruiting competent, historically under-represented minorities, women and disabled to compete for City positions; and promote the City of San Diego as an Equal Opportunity Employer of individuals and firms desiring to contract with the City; and

WHEREAS, the ordinance provides that the Commission shall consist of 11 members appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the City Council; and

WHEREAS, the ordinance provides that the board shall include one representative from each of the following historically under-represented groups: Latino, African-American, Filipino, American Indian, Asian/Pacific Islander, Disabled and Lesbian/Gay/Bisexual/Transgender [LGBT]; and

WHEREAS, the ordinance provides that the remaining four members of the Commission shall be appointed from the City at large; and

WHEREAS, the ordinance provides that members shall serve two-year terms; each member shall serve until a successor is duly appointed and confirmed; and all terms must have expiration dates of January 1; and

WHEREAS, one of the members is now to be reappointed; NOW, THEREFORE,

BE IT RESOLVED, by the Council of the City of San Diego, that the following
reappointment by the Mayor of the City of San Diego to serve as a member of the City of San
Diego Citizens Equal Opportunity Commission, for a term ending as indicated, be and the same

is hereby confirmed.

NAME	CATEGORY	TERM ENDING
Dr Patricia Hsieh	(Asıan/Pacific Islander) (Clairemont)	January 1, 2010
	, , ,	

APPROVED: MICHAEL J. AGUIRRE, City Attorney

Ву	Thain Sonak	
•	Sharon B. Spivak	
	Deputy City Attorney	

SBS:jdf 09/05/08 Or.Dept:Mayor R-2009-262

I hereby certify that the foregoing Resolution was passed by the Council of the City of San Diego, at this meeting of <u>SEP 1 6 2008</u>.

ELIZABETH S. MALAND

City Clerk

	By Cluy Deputy City Clerk
Approved: 4.13-97 (date)	JERRY SAMDERS, Mayor
Vetoed:(date)	JERRY SANDERS, Mayor

Passed by the Council of The City of San Diego or		SEP <b>1 6</b> 2008, by the followin		the following vote
Council Members	Yeas	Nays	Not Present	Recused
Scott Peters	$\square$			
Kevin Faulconer	$ ot \hspace{-1em} \square$			
Toni Atkins	$ ot \hspace{-1em} \square$			
Anthony Young	$\mathbf{Z}$			
Brian Maienschein	$\square$			
Donna Frye				
Jım Madaffer	Ø,			
Ben Hueso	$\mathbb{Z}$			
Date of final passage SEP 2	3 2008			
AUTHENTICATED BY		JERRY SANDERS  Mayor of The City of San Diego, California		
(Seal)	Ву_	City Gler	ELIZABETH S k of The City of Sa	

Office of the City Clerk, San Diego, California

Resolution Number R-\_

304125

10F)

RESOLUTION NUMBER R- 304126

DATE OF FINAL PASSAGE SEP 2 3 2008

WHEREAS, the Historical Resources Board [HRB] was established in 1965 by the City Council in accordance with City Charter, Section 43; and

WHEREAS, in 1985, the City of San Diego became a Certified Local Government [CLG] pursuant to the National Historic Preservation Act Section 101(c) for its implementation of a local historical preservation program based on federal and state standards; and

WHEREAS, the CLG program makes the City of San Diego eligible for various benefits including eligibility for a share in the state's Annual Historic Preservation Fund; and

WHEREAS, the CLG program requires that the City of San Diego establish a qualified preservation review commission under local law, which is to be comprised of a minimum of five members, all having a demonstrated interest, competence, or knowledge of historic preservation; and

WHEREAS, the City of San Diego has granted authority to its preservation review commission, the HRB, under San Diego Municipal Code, Land Development Code section 111.0206, which establishes an 11-member Board and each member to be appointed by the Mayor and subject to confirmation by the City Council; and

WHEREAS, the San Diego Municipal Code provides that each member shall serve a two-year term without compensation and shall continue to serve until a successor is appointed; and

WHEREAS, the San Diego Municipal Code provides that no member shall serve more than four consecutive terms; the members shall be appointed so that the terms of not more than six members will expire in any year; and the expiration date of all terms of appointment shall be March 1; and

WHEREAS, the San Diego Municipal Code states that the Mayor may designate one member as Chairperson during March of each year. If the Mayor has not designated a chairperson by April 15, the Board shall elect a Chairperson from among its members; and

WHEREAS, the San Diego Municipal Code provides that at least one Board member shall be appointed from among professionals in each of the following disciplines as required to meet the "Certified Local Government" criteria of the State Office of Historic Preservation, as established by the National Historic Preservation Act: architecture, history, architectural history, archaeology, and landscape architecture. Other members appointed may have experience or background in law, real estate, engineering, general contracting, finance, planning, or fine arts and should reflect diverse neighborhood representation and have demonstrated a special interest in historical preservation. No more than three owners of designated historical resources shall serve at any time; and

WHEREAS, two members are serving on expired terms and wish to be reappointed; NOW, THEREFORE,

BE IT RESOLVED, by the Council of the City of San Diego, that the following reappointments by the Mayor of the City of San Diego to serve as members of the Historical Resources Board, for terms ending as indicated, be and the same are hereby confirmed:

NAME	CATEGORY	TERM ENDING
Maria Curry (Barrio Logan, District 8) (Reappointment)	Member	March 1, 2010
Louis Otto Emme (La Jolla, District 1) (Reappointment)	Member	March 1, 2010

APPROVED: MICHAEL J. AGUIRRE, City Attorney

Ву	Shain Mulit	
-	Sharon B. Spivak	
	Denuty City Attorney	

SBS:jdf 09/05/08 Or.Dept:Mayor R-2009-263

I hereby certify that the foregoing Resolution was passed by the Council of the City of San Diego, at this meeting of  $\Sigma P 162008$ .

ELIZABETH S. MALAND

	City Clerk
	By Cruy Deputy City Clerk
Approved. 4.13.08 (date)	JERRY SANDERS, Mayor
Vetoed:(date)	JERRY SANDERS, Mayor

Passed by the Council of The City of San Diego on _		SEP 1 6 2008 , by the following vo		the following vote	
Council Members	Yeas	Nays	Not Present	Recused	
Scott Peters	$\square$				
Kevin Faulconer					
Toni Atkins	$\mathbf{Z}_{\cdot}$				
Anthony Young	Z				
Brian Maienschein					
Donna Frye	otan				
Jım Madaffer	$\mathbb{Z}_{I}$				
Ben Hueso	otan				
Date of final passage SEP 2	3 2008				
AUTHENTICATED BY		JERRY SANDERS  Mayor of The City of San Diego, California			
(Seal)	Ву_	CylyCler	ELIZABETH S k of The City of Sai	MALAND  n Diego, California.	Deputy
		Office of t	he City Clerk, Sar	ı Diego, California	

Resolution Number R-\_

304126