(R-2009-425) 109

RESOLUTION NUMBER R- 304246

DATE OF FINAL PASSAGE OCT 2 7 2008

WHEREAS, on October 13, 2003, the City Council adopted an ordinance which is on file with the Office of the City Clerk as Document No. O-19224, and codified at San Diego Municipal Code section 26.04 renaming the Energy Advisory Board to Sustainable Energy Advisory Board and adding provisions relating to renewable energy goals and board appointments; and

WHEREAS, the Sustainable Energy Advisory Board is to serve as an advisory body to the Mayor, City Council, and City Manager on energy policy and future energy needs for the metropolitan San Diego area and to assist the City's attainment of its energy independence and renewable energy goals; and

WHEREAS, the ordinance requires the Mayor to appoint nine regular members and two alternate members that will be confirmed by the City Council; and

WHEREAS, the ordinance requires the seven designated members shall be appointed from the following representative areas of organizational interest, expertise, and background

- (1) San Diego Regional Energy Office [SANDAG]
- (2) San Diego Gas & Electric Company
- (3) Environmental Advocate
- (4) Labor Organization
- (5) Solar Power System Manufacturer or Installer
- (6) Building Industry
- (7) Chamber of Commerce/Business Community

WHEREAS, the ordinance requires the two regular at-large representatives and two alternate members shall be appointed at the discretion of the Mayor and subject to confirmation by the Council; and

WHEREAS, the ordinance requires that the members shall serve two year terms and each member shall serve until a successor is duly appointed and confirmed; NOW, THEREFORE,

BE IT RESOLVED, by the Council of the City of San Diego, that the following appointments by the Mayor of the City of San Diego, to serve as members of the Sustainable Energy Advisory Board, for a term ending as indicated, be and the same are hereby confirmed:

| <u>NAME</u> | <u>CATEGORY</u> | TERM ENDING |
|---|--------------------------|---------------|
| Isam Hasenin (Rancho Penasquitos, District 1) (Replacing James Callaghan, who is not seeking reappointment) | At-Large Alternate No. 1 | March 1, 2009 |
| Alison Whitelaw (South Park, District 3) (Replacing Vic Ryder, who is not seeking reappointment) | At-Large Alternate No. 2 | March 1, 2009 |

APPROVED: MICHAEL J. AGUIRRE, City Attorney

Вy

Catherine M. Bradley

Chief Deputy City Attorney

CMB:als 10/02/08 Or.Dept:Mayor R-2009-425

18 JU - 5] 674

-PAGE 2 OF 3-

R 304246

| Diego, at this meeting of <u>OCT 1 4 2008</u> | —: |
|---|--|
| | ELIZABETH S. MALAND City Clerk By Olympia Deputy City Clerk |
| Approved: b. Cox (date) | JERRY SANDERS, Mayor |
| Vetoed:(date) | JERRY SANDERS, Mayor |