RESOLUTION NUMBER R- 305776

DATE OF FINAL PASSAGE APR 23 2010

WHEREAS, the Balboa Park Committee [the Committee] is established in San Diego Municipal Code, Chapter 2, Article 6, Division 00, section 26.30(f), to serve as an advisory board on policy issues relating to the acquisition, development, maintenance and operation of Balboa Park; and

WHEREAS, the Balboa Park Committee was created to provide advice to the City's Park and Recreation Board, Mayor, City Council and City Manager; and

WHEREAS, the Municipal Code provides that the Committee shall consist of eleven members appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the City Council; and

WHEREAS, the Mayor shall appoint three members from a list of at least four nominees provided by the Councilmember representing the majority of the area in Balboa Park; and

WHEREAS, the Mayor shall appoint four members from planning groups officially recognized by the City pursuant to Council Policy 600-24, including one each from the planning groups representing the Uptown, North Park, Golden Hill and Centre City neighborhoods; and

WHEREAS, the Mayor shall appoint one member from the Balboa Park/Morley Field Recreation Council; one representing a large institution in Balboa Park; and one representing a small or mid-sized institution in Balboa Park; and

WHEREAS, the Municipal Code also provides that members of the Committee shall serve without compensation, for two-year staggered terms and until a member's successor is duly appointed and qualified; and

WHEREAS, members of the Committee may be appointed and serve for a maximum of eight consecutive years; and

WHEREAS, there is a vacancy on the Balboa Park Committee due to the resignation of Jennifer Ayala; NOW, THEREFORE,

BE IT RESOLVED, by the Council of the City of San Diego, that the following appointment by the Mayor to serve as a member of the Balboa Park Committee, for the term ending as indicated, be and the same is hereby confirmed:

NAME	CATEGORY	TERM ENDING
Jason Elrod (Bankers Hill, District 2) (Replacing Jennifer Ayala, who resigned)	Centre City planning group	March 1, 2012

APPROVED: JAN I. GOLDSMITH, City Attorney

By

Rachel C. Lipsky

Deputy City Attorney

RCL:sc 04/06/10 Or.Dept:Mayor R-2010-731 ELIZABETH S. MALAND
City Clerk

By Deputy City Clerk

Approved: (date)

JERRY SANDERS, Mayor

Vetoed: JERRY SANDERS, Mayor

I hereby certify that the foregoing Resolution was passed by the Council of the City of San Diego, at this meeting of \_\_APR 2 0 2010 \_.