RESOLUTION NUMBER R- 306057

DATE OF FINAL PASSAGE AUG 0 5 2010

A RESOLUTION OF THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF SAN DIEGO RATIFYING THE ELECTION RESULTS OF THE JUNE 24, 2010 PROJECT AREA COMMITTEE ELECTION FOR THE CROSSROADS REDEVELOPMENT PROJECT AREA.

WHEREAS, on April 2, 2002, by Resolution No. R-296253, the City Council of the City of San Diego [Council] adopted the formation procedures for the Crossroads Redevelopment Project Area Committee [PAC]; and

WHEREAS, on May 6, 2003, the Council adopted Ordinance No. O-19174, thereby approving and authorizing the Redevelopment Plan for the Crossroads Redevelopment Project Area [Project Area]; and

WHEREAS, on May 20, 2003, by Resolution No. R-297999, the Council directed that the procedures for the project area committees, including the Crossroads Redevelopment PAC administered by the Community and Economic Development Department on behalf of the Redevelopment Agency of the City of San Diego [Agency] be amended; and

WHEREAS, on December 8, 2003, by Resolution No. R-298702, the Council amended the formation procedures [Procedures] of the Crossroads Redevelopment PAC; and

WHEREAS, California Community Redevelopment Law [Law] requires that project area committees remain in existence for three years from the date of adoption of the redevelopment plan and are thereafter subject to one-year extensions by the legislative body; and

WHEREAS, on March 23, 2010, the Council by Resolution No. R-305703, approved a one year extension of the Crossroads Redevelopment PAC and directed Agency staff to notice and conduct the annual PAC election for 2010; and

WHEREAS, after notice, and in accordance with the Procedures, the Crossroads

Redevelopment PAC By Laws, and applicable law, the annual PAC election was duly conducted by Agency staff on June 24, 2010; and

WHEREAS, a representative from the Office of the City Clerk attended the annual Crossroads PAC election to ensure its validity and provide official verification of the tallying of ballots; and

WHEREAS, the PAC had a total of six open seats for the election held on June 24, 2010; and

WHEREAS, candidates for five of the six open PAC seats were elected by a candidate receiving the highest number of votes within a particular category; and

WHEREAS, there was a tie vote for the position of Business/Property Owner-Northern

Area seat; and

WHEREAS, a representative of the City Clerk's Office conducted a coin flip to determine the final election outcome and resolve the tie pursuant to section 7H of the Procedures; and

WHEREAS, Bryant Jackson won the coin flip and was determined to be the winner of the Business/Property Owner – Northern Area seat; NOW, THEREFORE,

BE IT RESOLVED by the Council of the City of San Diego, as follows:

1. That the Project Area Committee [PAC] for the Crossroads Redevelopment

Project, listed on the City Clerk's verification of election results attached hereto as Exhibit "A"

and incorporated herein by this reference, is hereby approved as constituting a representative PAC.

2. That the Council finds the election results of June 24, 2010, are valid and binding in accordance with the Procedures adopted by Resolution R-298702.

APPROVED: JAN I. GOLDSMITH, City Attorney

 $\mathbf{B}\mathbf{y}$ 

Koorosk Khashayar Deputy City Attorney

KK:nda 07/02/10 Or.Dept:Redev.Agency R-2011-18 MMS#12257

ELIZABETH S. MALAND

City Clerk

Deputy City Clerk

Approved: (date)

JERRY SANDERS, Mayor

Vetoed: \_\_\_\_\_

JERRY SANDERS, Mayor

## **EXHIBIT A**

## CROSSROADS REDEVELOPMENT PROJECT AREA COMMITTEE ELECTION RESULTS JUNE 24, 2010

The following individuals were elected to the Crossroads Redevelopment Project Area Committee on June 24, 2010:

- A. Residential Tenant EACPC Area (1 seat)
  - Jeannette Maxwell (2-year term)
- B. Residential Tenant CACC/CHAPC Area (1 seat)
  - Jose Lopez (2-year term)
- C. Residential Owner-Occupant CACC/CHAPC Area (1 seat)
  - Vacant\* (1-year term)
- D. Business/Property Owner Northern Area (1 seat)
  - Bryant Jackson\*\* (2-year term)
- E. Business/Property Owner Southern Area (2 seats)
  - Lynn Singleton Ewing (2-year term)
  - Herlindo Salinas for Teen Challenge International (2-year term)
- F. Community Organization at Large (1 seat)
  - Anna Orzel-Arnita for Redwood Village Community Council (2-year term)

I have witnessed and verified that the six (6) members were elected to the aforementioned positions.

Witnessed: Down

Bonnie Stone
Deputy Director

Office of the City Clerk

6.29.2010

Date

NOTE: Election results are NOT official until ratified by the City Council.

Continuing members of the Crossroads Redevelopment Project Area Committee holding seats not subject to election in 2010 include: Cynthia Lewis, John Mireles, David Nelson, Charles Maze, Kasra Movahedi, Daniele Laman, Jennifer Finnegan, and Mario Ingrasci.

<sup>\*</sup>No candidates were registered for this position. The position may later be filled by appointment per the Procedure for the Formation and Election of the Project Area Committee for the Crossroads Redevelopment Project and per the Crossroads Redevelopment Project Area Committee Bylaws.

<sup>\*\*</sup>A tie vote resulted on election night. Per Section 7.H of the Procedure for the Formation and Election of the Project Area Committee for the Crossroads Redevelopment Project, a representative from the Office of the City Clerk administered a coin flip on June 29, 2010, to determine the winner.