(R-2011-116)

RESOLUTION NUMBER R- 306100

DATE OF FINAL PASSAGE SEP 15 2010

WHEREAS, on April 4, 2006, the San Diego City Council adopted an ordinance, codified at San Diego Municipal Code sections 26.1901 to 26.1903, establishing the City of San Diego Commission on Gang Prevention and Intervention; and

WHEREAS, San Diego Municipal Code section 26.1901 provides that the Commission serves as an official advisory body to the Mayor, City Council and City Manager on policy issues relating to gang prevention and intervention with a vision of developing a more strategic, coordinated and collaborative effort between the City, law enforcement agencies, social service providers and the general public in order to significantly curtail gang involvement and its negative impact in the City of San Diego; and

WHEREAS, the ordinance provides that the Commission shall consist of twenty-one members appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the City Council; and

WHEREAS, the ordinance also provides that the Mayor shall appoint eight members, one each from a list of at least two nominations submitted by each Council member to represent his or her district; and

WHEREAS, the Mayor shall also appoint one member from a community organization working on gang issues; one member from the field of public health; one member from the field of social services; one member from the San Diego Association of Governments; one member from the San Diego Workforce Partnership; and one member who shall be a reformed ex-gang member; and

WHEREAS, except for officeholders, the members shall serve two-year terms and each member shall serve until a successor is duly appointed and confirmed; NOW, THEREFORE,

BE IT RESOLVED, by the Council of the City of San Diego, that the following appointments and reappointments by the Mayor of the City of San Diego, to serve as members of the City of San Diego Commission on Gang Prevention and Intervention, for a term ending as indicated, be and the same are hereby confirmed:

NAME	CATEGORY	TERM ENDING
Joyce Abrams (La Jolla, District 1) (Replacing Victor Torres, who is not seeking reappointment)	District 1	July 1, 2011
Edward Martinez (El Cajon) (Replacing Steven Eldred, who is termed out)	Public Health	July 1, 2012
Carol Williams (Rancho Penasquitos, District 1) (Replacing Kevin Henderson, who is termed out)	Social Services	July 1, 2012
Mark Cafferty (Point Loma, District 2) (Reappointment)	San Diego Workforce Partnership	July 1, 2012
Gary Gallegos (Tierrasanta, District 7) (Reappointment)	San Diego Association of Government	July 1, 2012
Rosa Ana Lozado (Bonita) (Reappointment)	Community Based Organization	July 1, 2012
Danny Villareal (Golden Hill, District 8) (Reappointment)	Reformed Gang Member	July 1, 2012

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that pursuant to Council Policy 000-13, for purposes of deliberation and consideration of appointment and reappointment, it is determined that Edward Martinez and Rosa Ana Lozado are residents of San Diego County, but not the City of San

Diego, and have unique qualifications to serve as members of the Commission. Therefore, a conscious exception to Council Policy 000-13 is hereby declared.

APPROVED: JAN I. GOLDSMITH, City Attorney

Rachel C. Lipsky
Deputy City Attorney

RCL:sc 08/11/10 Or.Dept:Mayor

I hereby certify that the foregoing Resolution was passed by the Council of the City of San Diego, at this meeting of ___SEP_0_7_2010.

Approved: 9.15.10

JERRY SANDERS, Mayor

Vetoed: _____(date)

JERRY SANDERS, Mayor