RESOLUTION NUMBER R	306106
DATE OF FINAL PASSAGE	SEP 1 5 2010

WHEREAS, the Mission Bay Park Committee is established in San Diego Municipal Code section 26.30(g) to serve in an advisory capacity to the Park and Recreation Board, Mayor, City Council, and City Manager on policy issues relating to the acquisition, development, maintenance, and operation of Mission Bay Park; and

WHEREAS, effective July 1, 2009, the Mission Bay Park Committee also fulfills the role of the Mission Bay Park Improvement Fund Oversight Committee as described in Charter section 55.2; and

WHEREAS, in order to satisfy the requirements of Charter section 55.2, each member of the Mission Bay Park Committee must possess expertise, or demonstrated experience or knowledge in one or more of the following areas: auditing, finance or municipal finance, general business, planning, biology or environmental science, resource management or protection, wildlife management or protection, construction management, recreation management or planning; and

WHEREAS, the Mission Bay Park Committee consists of eleven members who serve without compensation; and

WHEREAS, the members are appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the City Council subject to the following conditions: the Mayor appoints three members from nominations submitted by the Councilmember for Council District Two and three members from nominations submitted by the Councilmember for Council District Six; the Mayor appoints three at-large members; the Mayor appoints one Mission Bay lessee who represents a hotel in the Park; and the Mayor appoints one Mission Bay lessee who represents a lessee in the Park other than a hotel; and

WHEREAS, members serve two-year staggered terms for a maximum of eight

consecutive years and until a successor is appointed; and

WHEREAS, members are appointed in such a manner that the terms of not more than six

members expire in any year; NOW, THEREFORE,

BE IT RESOLVED, by the Council of the City of San Diego, that the following

reappointments by the Mayor of the City of San Diego to serve as members of the Mission Bay

Park Committee be and the same are hereby confirmed:

NAME	CATEGORY	TERM ENDING
Katy Bendel (Bay Park, District 6) (Reappointment)	District 6 Representative	June 30, 2012
Jim Greene (Pacific Beach, District 2) (Reappointment)	Hotel Lessee Representing a Hotel in Mission Bay Park	June 30, 2012
Cynthia Hedgecock (Mission Beach, District 2) (Reappointment)	District 2 Representative	June 30, 2012
Mort McCarthy (La Mesa) (Reappointment)	Non-Hotel Lessee in Mission Bay Park	June 30, 2012
David Potter (Bay Park, District 6) (Reappointment)	District 6 Representative	June 30, 2012

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that pursuant to Council Policy 000-13, for purposes of deliberation and consideration of appointment, it is determined that Mort McCarthy is a resident of San Diego County, but not the City of San Diego, and has unique qualifications to serve as a

member of the Mission Bay Park Committee. Therefore, a conscious exception to Council Policy 000-13 is hereby declared.

i

APPROVED: JAN I. GOLDSMITH, City Attorney

psky By Rachel C. Lipsky Deputy City Attorney

RCL:sc 08/10/10 Or.Dept:Mayor

I hereby certify that the foregoing Resolution was passed by the Council of the City of San Diego, at this meeting of SEP 072010.

Approved:

ELIZABETH S. MANAND City Cl By Deputy City Clerk

JERRY SANDERS, Mayor

Vetoed: _____

(date)

JERRY SANDERS, Mayor