RESOLUTION NUMBER R- 306147

DATE OF FINAL PASSAGE OCT 04 2010

WHEREAS, on April 15, 2002, the City Council introduced an ordinance, on file with the Office of the City Clerk as Document No. 00-19053, and codified at San Diego Municipal Code sections 26.1601 to 26.1605, establishing a City of San Diego Youth Commission (the Commission); and

WHEREAS, the Commission was created to serve as an advisory body to the Mayor,
City Council and City Manager on issues of interest to youth and pertaining to youth in the City
of San Diego; and

WHEREAS, the Commission was created to facilitate the participation of youth and young adults in local government, as well as to provide City officials an opportunity to hear and address their ideas and concerns; and

WHEREAS, the Municipal Code states that the Commission will have eighteen members, who shall serve two-year terms and serve until a successor is appointed and confirmed; and

WHEREAS, the Municipal Code requires the Mayor to appoint two members from the list of nominees provided by each member of the City Council, for a total of sixteen; and two additional members chosen by the Mayor; and

WHEREAS, the Mayor now seeks to fill seven vacancies on the Commission because the following seven members do not seek to be reappointed: Dylan Morales, Alejandra Paradeones, Amina Ture, Bryan Gonzalez, Brian Bartwick, Theresa Palofax and Haley Cottrell; and

WHEREAS, the Mayor seeks to appoint seven new Commissioners, including those nominated by members of the City Council, and subject to confirmation by a majority of the City Council; and

WHEREAS, the Mayor seeks to reappoint eleven members of the Commission; NOW, THEREFORE,

BE IT RESOLVED, by the Council of the City of San Diego, that the following appointments and reappointments by the Mayor of the City of San Diego, to serve as members of the City of San Diego Youth Commission, are and the same are hereby confirmed:

NAME	NOMINATED BY	TERM ENDING
Robert Benjamin (R.B.) Gannon (La Jolla, District 1) (Replacing Dylan Morales, who is not seeking reappointment)	Council District 6	July 1, 2012
Marcella Griffin (North Park, District 3) (Replacing Alejandra Paradeones, who is not seeking reappointment)	Council District 3	July 1, 2012
Rosa Olasagua (City Heights, District 3) (Replacing Amina Ture, who is not seeking reappointment)	Council District 3	July 1, 2012
Sherry Ramirez (Golden Hill, District 8) (Replacing Bryan Gonzalez, who is not seeking reappointment)	Council District 8	July 1, 2012
Michael Sacks (La Jolla, District 1) (Replacing Brian Bartick, who is not seeking reappointment)	Council District 1	July 1, 2012
Alex Torres (Southcrest, District 8) (Replacing Theresa Palofax, who is not seeking reappointment)	Council District 8	July 1, 2012
Michelle Zhang (Torrey Hills, District 1) (Replacing Haley Cottrell, who is not seeking reappointment)	Council District 1	July 1, 2012

Gabrielle Dubick		
(La Jolla, District 1)	Mayor	July 1, 2012
(Reappointment)		<b>3</b> ,
Raynesha Harris		
(Mountain View, District 4)	Council District 4	July 1, 2012
(Reappointment)		
Alejandro Ibaibarriaga		
(Del Cerro, District 7)	Council District 7	July 1, 2012
(Reappointment)		• ,
Camille Jorgensen		
(Rolando, District 7)	Council District 7	July 1, 2012
(Reappointment)		, i
Roger Li		, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
(Mira Mesa, District 5)	Council District 5	July 1, 2012
(Reappointment)		
Henrietta Movsessian		
(La Jolla, District 1)	Council District 2	July 1, 2012
(Reappointment)		
Saira Roshnaye		
(Serra Mesa, District 6)	Council District 6	July 1, 2012
(Reappointment)		
Caitlin Snell		
(Point Loma, District 2)	Council District 2	July 1, 2012
(Reappointment)		
Briana Sotelo		
(Golden Hill, District 8)	Mayor	July 1, 2012
(Reappointment)		
Korral Taylor		
(Encanto, District 4)	Council District 4	July 1, 2012
(Reappointment)		
Koleka Willis		
(Rancho Bernardo, District 5)	Council District 5	July 1, 2012
(Reappointment)		

APPROVED: JAN I. GOLDSMITH, City Attorney

By

Rachel C. Lipsky

Deputy City Attorney

RCL:sc 08/30/10

Or.Dept:Mayor

	ELIZABETH S. MALAND City Clerk  By Olympathology Deputy City Clerk
Approved: / / (date)	JERRY SANDERS, Mayor
Vetoed:(date)	JERRY SANDERS, Mayor

I hereby certify that the foregoing Resolution was passed by the Council of the City of San Diego, at this meeting of <u>SEP 21</u> 2010.