RESOLUTION NUMBER R- 306191

DATE OF FINAL PASSAGE OCT 13 2010

WHEREAS, on June 5, 2001, the City Council adopted an ordinance, on file with the Office of the City Clerk as O-18945, and codified at San Diego Municipal Code sections 26.0401 to 26.0415, establishing an Ethics Commission for the City of San Diego (Commission); and

WHEREAS, the ordinance requires the Mayor to appoint seven Ethics Commissioners from a pool of nominees submitted by the members of the City Council and City Attorney, subject to confirmation by a majority of the City Council; and

WHEREAS, the ordinance requires that the Commission reflect the diversity of the City, and requires that the Commission include: (1) at least one person who has been a candidate for an elective governmental office, has worked as a treasurer or other high-level position in a campaign for elective governmental office, or has held an elective governmental office; and (2) at least two attorneys in good standing with the California Bar Association; and

WHEREAS, the ordinance requires that no more than three members of the Commission shall be registered with the same political party; and

WHEREAS, the members of the Commission serve four-year terms beginning on July 1 and ending on June 30; NOW, THEREFORE,

BE IT RESOLVED, by the Council of the City of San Diego, that the appointments by the Mayor of the City of San Diego, to serve as members of the San Diego Ethics Commission, for terms ending as indicated below, be and the same are hereby confirmed:

NAME	CATEGORY	TERM ENDING
William Howatt (El Cajon) (Replacing Dorothy H. Leonard, who is termed out)	Independent	June 30, 2013
Faye Detsky-Weil (Torrey Pines, District 1) (Replacing Richard Valdez, who resigned)	Democrat	June 30, 2011

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that pursuant to Council Policy 000-13, for purposes of deliberation and consideration of appointment, it is determined that William Howatt is a resident of San Diego County, but not the City of San Diego, and has unique qualifications to serve as a member of the Commission, therefore, a conscious exception to Council Policy 000-13 is hereby declared.

APPROVED: JAN I. GOLDSMITH, City Attorney

By Rachel C. Lipsky

Deputy City Attorney

RCL:sc 09/21/10

Or.Dept:Mayor

I hereby certify that the foregoing Resolution was passed by the Council of the City of San Diego, at this meeting of <u>0CT 0 5 2010</u>

	ELIZABETH S. MALAND City Clerk  By Deputy City Clerk
Approved: 10/13/10 (date)	JERRY SANDERS, Mayor
Vetoed:(date)	JERRY SANDERS, Mayor