RESOLUTION NUMBER RDATE OF FINAL PASSAGE

306207

0CT 18 2010

WHEREAS, the Commission for Arts and Culture (Commission) is established in San Diego Municipal Code section 26.0703 to advise the Mayor and City Council on promoting, encouraging, and increasing support for the region's artistic and cultural assets, integrating arts and culture into community life, and showcasing San Diego as an international tourist destination; and

WHEREAS, the Municipal Code provides that the Commission shall consist of fifteen members appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the City Council who represent the following: individual arts and culture patrons, artists, educators, the business and professional community, those with professional qualifications and experience or knowledge of a particular arts and culture field, and the general public; and

WHEREAS, the Municipal Code provides that the Mayor appoint seven members, and that the Mayor appoint the remaining eight members, one each from a list of three nominations submitted by each Councilmember; and

WHEREAS, the members serve two-year staggered terms and until a successor is duly appointed and confirmed; NOW, THEREFORE,

BE IT RESOLVED, by the Council of the City of San Diego, that the following appointments and reappointments by the Mayor of the City of San Diego, to serve as members of the Commission for Arts and Culture, for terms expiring as indicated, are and the same are hereby confirmed:

NAME	TERM ENDING
Sheryl White	
(Del Mar)	August 31, 2012
(Replacing Randy Robbins, who is termed out)	
Odelia "Dea" Hurston	
(Hillcrest, District 3)	August 31, 2012
(Reappointment)	
Colette Carlson-Royston	
(La Jolla, District 1)	August 31, 2012
(Reappointment)	
Sharletta Richardson	
(Mira Mesa, District 5)	August 31, 2012
(Reappointment)	
Victoria Reed	
(La Jolla, District 1)	August 31, 2012
(Reappointment)	
Garet Clark	
(Mission Hills, District 2)	August 31, 2012
(Reappointment)	
Judy McDonald	
(Kensington, District 3)	August 31, 2012
(Reappointment)	
Robert H. Gleason	
(Kensington, District 3)	August 31, 2012
(Reappointment)	
Bennet Peji	
(Serra Mesa, District 6)	August 31, 2012
(Reappointment)	

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that pursuant to Council Policy 000-13, for purposes of deliberation and consideration of appointment, it is determined that Sheryl White is a resident of San Diego County, but not the City of San Diego, and has unique qualifications to serve as a member of the Commission, therefore, a conscious exception to Council Policy 000-13 is hereby declared.

APPROVED: JAN I. GOLDSMITH, City Attorney

Rachel C. Lipsky
Deputy City Attorney

By

RCL:sc:jb 09/20/10 10/06/10 COR. COPY Or.Dept: Mayor

	ELIZABETH S. MALAND City Clerk By Deputy City Clerk
Approved: 10.18.10 (date)	JERRY SANDERS, Mayor
Vetoed:(date)	JERRY SANDERS, Mayor