(R-2021-478)

RESOLUTION NUMBER R- 313578

DATE OF FINAL PASSAGE JUN 1 4 2021

A RESOLUTION OF THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF SAN DIEGO APPOINTING AND REAPPOINTING MEMBERS OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF THE HORTON PLAZA THEATRES FOUNDATION

WHEREAS, the Council of the City of San Diego (Council) has approved the Articles of Incorporation and Bylaws for the Horton Plaza Theatres Foundation (Foundation); and

WHEREAS, the specific purpose of the Foundation is "to establish, operate, and maintain one or more legitimate theatres in the City of San Diego," and to promote, either alone or in cooperation with other non-profit organizations or governmental entities, theatre and fine arts in the City of San Diego, through educational, cultural, and artistic programs; and

WHEREAS, the Foundation's Bylaws provide that the Council shall appoint fifty percent plus one of the authorized number of members on the Board of Directors of the Foundation, and the rest of the directors shall be appointed by Horton Plaza, LLC; and

WHEREAS, directors appointed by the Council shall serve a term of three years; and WHEREAS, a director shall hold office until the expiration of the term for which the director was appointed, and until a successor has been appointed and qualified; and

WHEREAS, the following nominations have been made:

- (1) D. Candis Paule has been nominated by Councilmember LaCava;
- (2) Jay L. Henslee has been nominated by Council President Pro Tem Whitburn;
- (3) Larry Marshall has been nominated for reappointment by Council President Pro Tem Whitburn; and
 - (4) Patrick Stewart has been nominated by Councilmember Cate; and

WHEREAS, the nominees were considered by the Council pursuant to the procedure set forth in Council Policy 000-13; and

WHEREAS, the Council now seeks to make three appointments and one reappointment to the Foundation's Board of Directors; NOW, THEREFORE,

BE IT RESOLVED, by the Council of the City of San Diego, that the following appointments and reappointment by the Council, to serve as members of the Board of Directors of the Horton Plaza Theatres Foundation, for terms ending as indicated, are made and hereby confirmed:

<u>NAME</u>		TERM ENDING
D. Candis Paule		
(District 1)		June 7, 202 <u>3</u>
(Filling the seat previously held by		
Suzanne Varco)	
Jay L. Henslee		
(District 3)		June 7, 202 <u>3</u>
(Filling the seat previously held by		
Virginia M. Jackson)	
Patrick Stewart		
(District 6)		June 7, 2024
(Filling the seat previously held by		_
Pamela Hamilton Lester)	
Larry Marshall		
(District 3)		June 7, 2023
(Reappointment)		

APPROVED: MARA W. ELLIOTT, City Attorney

By <u>/s/ Kathy Steinman</u>

Kathy Steinman
Deputy City Attorney

KS:hm

May 24, 2021

Doc. No.: 2667926

Or.Dept:Council President

Passed by the Council of The City of San Diego on		go onJL	IN 0 8 2021	_, by the following vote:		
Councilmembers	Yeas	Nays	Not Present	Recused		
Joe LaCava	$ \angle $					
Jennifer Campbell	Д					
Stephen Whitburn	$ \angle $					
Monica Montgomery S	iteppe 🗾					
Marni von Wilpert	N					
Chris Cate	Д		U			
Raul A. Campillo	$\overline{\mathbb{N}}$					
Vivian Moreno						
Sean Elo-Rivera	Д					
(Please note: When a resolution is approved by the Mayor, the date of final passage is the date the approved resolution was returned to the Office of the City Clerk.) TODD GLORIA AUTHENTICATED BY: Mayor of The City of San Diego, California.						
			ELIZABETH S	S. MALAND		
(Seal)		City Cl	erk of The City of	f San Diego, California.		
		ву 🕭	nnie Fa	Henry, Deputy		
		Office of the City Clerk, San Diego, California				
	Resolution Number R- 313578					