(R-2022-161)

RESOLUTION NUMBER R- 313792

DATE OF FINAL PASSAGE <u>NOV 17 2021</u>

A RESOLUTION OF THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF SAN DIEGO CONFIRMING APPOINTMENTS AND A REAPPOINTMENT TO THE ETHICS COMMISSION.

WHEREAS, the Ethics Commission (Commission) is established in the San Diego Municipal Code under Chapter 2, Article 6, Division 4 (Municipal Code) to monitor, administer, and enforce the City's governmental ethics laws, and other duties set forth in that Division; and

WHEREAS, the Municipal Code provides that the Commission shall consist of seven members appointed by the Mayor from a pool of nominees submitted by the members of the Council of the City of San Diego (City Council) and City Attorney, and subject to confirmation by a majority of the City Council; and

WHEREAS, the Municipal Code provides that the members shall serve staggered four-year terms; each member shall serve until a successor is duly appointed and confirmed; and all terms must have expiration dates of June 30; and

WHEREAS, the Municipal Code provides that the Commission shall reflect the diversity of the City, and include: at least two members who have been a candidate for an elective governmental office, have worked as a treasurer or other high-level position in a campaign for elective governmental office, or have held an elective governmental office; and at least three attorneys in good standing with the State Bar of California; and

WHEREAS, the Municipal Code requires that no more than three members of the Commission shall be registered with the same political party; and NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, by the Council of the City of San Diego, that the following appointments and reappointment by the Council of the City of San Diego, in compliance with San Diego Charter section 41, to serve as members of the Ethics Commission, for terms expiring as indicated, are made and hereby confirmed:

NAME	CATEGORY	TERM ENDING
Paul Cooper (Torrey Highlands, District 5) (Filling seat previously held by David Potter)	Attorney/Decline to State	June 30, 2025
Jimmie Slack (Scripps Ranch, District 2) (Filling the seat previously held by Fredrick Kosmo)	Democrat	June 30, 2025
Thomas Hebrank (Kensington, District 9) (Reappointment)	Republican	June 30, 2025

APPROVED: MARA W. ELLIOTT, City Attorney

By /s/ Kathy J. Steinman Kathy J. Steinman Deputy City Attorney

KJS:jvg 11/9/21 Or.Dept: Mayor Doc. No.: 2711941

I certify that the foregoing Resolution was passed by the Council of the City of San Diego, at this meeting of _______.

-PAGE 2 OF 3-

ELIZABETH S. MALAND City Clerk

Patterson By

(R-2022-161)

11/17/21 Approved: (date)

Vetoed:

(date)

or

TODD GLORIA, Mayor

_ ... _.._.. ..

Passed by the Council of The City o	f San Dieg	o on <u>NOV</u>	16 2021	_, by the following vote:
Councilmembers	Yeas	Nays	Not Present	Recused
Joe LaCava	Z			
Jennifer Campbell	Ø			
Stephen Whitburn	Z			
Monica Montgomery Steppe	• 🛛			
Marni von Wilpert	\square			
Chris Cate	Ø			
Raul A. Campillo	Ź			
Vivian Moreno	Ø			
Sean Elo-Rivera	\square	Π		Π

Date of final passage NOV 1 7 2021

(Please note: When a resolution is approved by the Mayor, the date of final passage is the date the approved resolution was returned to the Office of the City Clerk.)

AUTHENTICATED BY:

TODD GLORIA Mayor of The City of San Diego, California.

(Seal)

ELIZABETH S. MALAND City Clerk of The City of San Diego, California.

By Connie Fatterson, Deputy

Office of the City Clerk, San Diego, California

Resolution Number R-313792