7/18/2022 #5400 (R-2023-27)

RESOLUTION NUMBER R- 314221

DATE OF FINAL PASSAGE JUL 18 2022

A RESOLUTION OF THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF SAN DIEGO DECLARING THE RESULTS OF THE MUNICIPAL PRIMARY ELECTION HELD IN THE CITY OF SAN DIEGO ON JUNE 7, 2022.

WHEREAS, a Municipal Primary Election was held in the City of San Diego on Tuesday, June 7, 2022, pursuant to the provisions of San Diego Ordinance O-21431, introduced and adopted on February 1, 2022, for the purpose of electing candidates to the offices of San Diego Councilmember for Districts 2, 4, 6, and 8, respectively; and

WHEREAS, San Diego Charter section 10 directs that the two candidates receiving the highest number of votes in a race for Councilmember for a specific district in the Municipal Primary Election are to be declared as such, and then will advance to the Municipal General Election for the office; and

WHEREAS, the City Clerk has received a copy of the certificate of the Registrar of Voters of San Diego County canvassing the returns of the Municipal Primary Election; and

WHEREAS, a canvass of this election has been completed and the City Clerk has certified the results to the Council of the City of San Diego; and

WHEREAS, declaring the results of the Municipal Primary Election as certified by the Registrar of Voters and the City Clerk is a ministerial act required by California Elections Code section 10263 and, therefore, is not subject to veto by the Mayor; NOW, THEREFORE,

BE IT RESOLVED, by the Council of the City of San Diego, that the Council finds and determines, pursuant to the provisions of Section 27.0411 of the San Diego Municipal Code, as follows:

:

The City of San Diego had 806,424 registered voters eligible to vote in the June 7, 2022 Municipal Primary Election. The total number of votes cast in the elections for City offices was 92,169.

II

The total vote received by each municipal candidate at the Municipal Primary Election is as follows:

A. FOR COUNCIL DISTRICT 2 (four-year term)

JENNIFER CAMPBELL	10,832 VOTES (29.81%)
LINDA LUKACS	9,211 VOTES (25.35%)
LORI SALDANA	6,603 VOTES (18.17%)
JOEL DAY	5,130 VOTES (14.12%)
MANDY HAVLIK	3,027 VOTES (8.33%)
DANIEL SMIECHOWSKI	1,528 VOTES (4.22%)
Total	36.335 VOTES (100%)

Jennifer Campbell and Linda Lukacs are hereby declared to be the two candidates receiving the highest number of votes and will advance to the Municipal General Election for the office of Councilmember, District No. 2.

B. FOR COUNCIL DISTRICT 4 (four-year term)

Total	17,021 VOTES (100%)
TYLISA D. SUSEBERRY	1,228 VOTES (7.21%)
GLORIA EVANGELISTA	3,683 VOTES (21.64%)
MONICA MONTGOMERY STEPPE	12,110 VOTES (71.15%)

Monica Montgomery Steppe and Gloria Evangelista are hereby declared to be the two candidates receiving the highest number of votes and will advance to the Municipal General Election for the office of Councilmember, District No. 4.

C. FOR COUNCIL DISTRICT 6 (four-year term)

KENT LEE	10,390 VOTES (40.73%)
TOMMY HOUGH	9,461 VOTES (37.09%)
JANE L. GLASSON	5,657 VOTES (22.18%)
Total	25.508 VOTES (100%)

Kent Lee and Tommy Hough are hereby declared to be the two candidates receiving the highest number of votes and will advance to the Municipal General Election for the office of Councilmember, District No. 6.

D. FOR COUNCIL DISTRICT 8 (four-year term)

VIVIAN MORENO	8,432 VOTES (63.37%)
ANTONIO MARTINEZ	4,873VOTES (36.63%)
Total	13,305 VOTES (100%)

Vivian Moreno and Antonio Martinez are hereby declared to be the two candidates receiving the highest number of votes and will advance to the Municipal General Election for the office of Councilmember, District No. 8.

Ш

The number of votes cast in each precinct is recorded in the Elections Return Book, which book is authorized and is considered to be a part of the record of this Council.

IV

The City Clerk shall make public the results of the canvass of the election by publication of a copy of this resolution.

APPROVED: MARA W. ELLIOTT, City Attorney

By <u>/s/Kathy J. Steinman</u>
Kathy J. Steinman
Deputy City Attorney

KJS:jvg July 11, 2022 Or.Dept: City Clerk CC No. N/A

Doc. No.: 3007899

			JL 1 8 2022	, by the following
Councilmembers	Yeas	Nays	Not Present	Recused
Joe LaCava				
Jennifer Campbell	Z			
Stephen Whitburn				
Monica Montgomery Stepp	e 🗾			
Marni von Wilpert				
Chris Cate				
Raul A. Campillo	Z			
Vivian Moreno				
Sean Elo-Rivera	\mathbb{Z}			
(Please note: When a resolution date the approved resolution wa			ce of the City Cl	erk.)
		ed to the Offi	ce of the City Cl	
date the approved resolution wa		ed to the Offi	ce of the City Cl	erk.) D GLORIA
date the approved resolution wa	as return	ed to the Offi	ce of the City Cl	erk.) D GLORIA San Diego, Californi
date the approved resolution was	as return	Mayo	TOD or of The City of S ELIZABETH S	erk.) D GLORIA San Diego, Californi
date the approved resolution was	as return	Mayo	TOD or of The City of S ELIZABETH S	erk.) D GLORIA San Diego, Californi S. MALAND
date the approved resolution was	as return	City Clo	TOD or of The City of S ELIZABETH S	erk.) D GLORIA San Diego, Californ MALAND San Diego, Californ , De