#600b 12/15/2022

(R-2023-333 REV.)

RESOLUTION NUMBER R- 314555

DATE OF FINAL PASSAGE DEC 1 5 2022

A RESOLUTION OF THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF SAN DIEGO CONFIRMING APPOINTMENTS OF COUNCILMEMBERS TO STANDING COMMITTEES FOR CALENDAR YEAR 2023.

WHEREAS, Rule 6.1 of the Rules of the Council, San Diego Municipal Code section 22.0101, provides for specific standing committees of the Council of the City of San Diego (Council); and

WHEREAS, Rule 6.2.1 provides that no later than the second Council meeting in January of each year, the Council President shall nominate the committee chair, vice chair, and committee members for each committee, subject to confirmation by a majority vote of the Council; and

WHEREAS, on December 6, 2022, Council adopted San Diego Ordinance O-2023-83 amending the Rules of Council to, among other things, add a new standing committee and require the Council President's nomination indicate the number of committee members assigned to each standing committee, except the Committee on Rules; and

WHEREAS, these amendments to the Rules of Council will become effective thirty days after final passage of Ordinance O-2023-83; and

WHEREAS, Council President Sean Elo-Rivera submitted nominations for the committee chairs, vice chairs, and committee members for the standing committees of the Council for calendar year 2023, and now seeks Council confirmation of the appointments; and

WHEREAS, Council desires to make the standing committee appointments based on the pending amendments to the Rules of Council and have the appointments become effective when the amendments become effective; and

WHEREAS, the additional appointments of Councilmembers to serve on the City's Audit Committee, which is governed by the San Diego Charter, and appointment of a Council President Pro Tem will be considered by the Council in separate actions and are not included in this resolution; and

WHEREAS, the Office of the City Attorney has drafted this resolution based on the information provided by City staff, with the understanding that this information is complete, true, and accurate; and

WHEREAS, under San Diego Charter section 280(a)(1), this resolution is not subject to veto by the Mayor because this matter is exclusively within the purview of the Council and not affecting the administrative service of the City under the control of the Mayor; NOW,

THEREFORE,

BE IT RESOLVED, by the Council of the City of San Diego, the Council confirms the Economic Development and Intergovernmental Relations Committee shall have three committee members, and the Active Transportation and Infrastructure Committee, Budget and Government Efficiency Committee, Community and Neighborhood Services Committee, Environment Committee, Land Use and Housing Commission, and Public Safety Committee shall each have four committee members; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Council confirms the following appointments of the committee chair, vice chair, and committee members for each standing committee pursuant to Municipal Code section 22.0101, to serve for a term of one year, and until a successor is duly appointed and confirmed:

-PAGE 2 OF 4-

Council President Sean-Elo-Rivera:

Chair, Rules Committee Vice Chair, Community and Neighborhood Services Committee

Councilmember Joe LaCava:

Chair, Environment Committee Vice Chair, Land Use and Housing Committee Vice Chair, Active Transportation and Infrastructure Committee Member, Rules Committee Member, Budget and Government Efficiency Committee

Councilmember Jennifer Campbell:

Chair, Community and Neighborhood Services Committee Member, Environment Committee Member, Public Safety Committee

Councilmember Stephen Whitburn:

Member, Land Use and Housing Committee Member, Community and Neighborhood Services Committee

Councilmember Monica Montgomery Steppe:

Chair, Budget and Government Efficiency Committee Vice Chair, Rules Committee Vice Chair, Public Safety Committee Vice Chair, Economic Development and Intergovernmental Relations Committee Member, Active Transportation and Infrastructure Committee

Councilmember Marni von Wilpert:

Chair, Public Safety Committee Vice Chair, Environment Committee Member, Active Transportation and Infrastructure Committee

Councilmember Kent Lee:

Chair, Active Transportation and Infrastructure Committee Member, Budget and Government Efficiency Committee Member, Economic Development and Intergovernmental Relations Committee Member, Rules Committee Member, Land Use and Housing Committee

Councilmember Raul Campillo:

Chair, Economic Development and Intergovernmental Relations Committee Member, Environment Committee Member, Community and Neighborhood Services Committee Member, Public Safety Committee **Councilmember Vivian Moreno:** Chair, Land Use and Housing Committee Vice Chair, Budget and Government Efficiency Committee Member, Rules Committee

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, this resolution shall take effect upon the effective date of

the amendments to the Rules of Council in Ordinance O-2023-83.

APPROVED: MARA W. ELLIOTT, City Attorney

By <u>/s/ Heather M. Ferbert</u> Heather M. Ferbert Chief Deputy City Attorney

HMF:sc 12/14/2022 12/15/2022 REV. Or:Dept: Council Doc. No. 3158403

-PAGE 4 OF 4-

Passed by the Council of The City of San Diego on	DEC 1 5 2022	_, by the following vote:
---	--------------	---------------------------

Councilmembers	Yeas	Nays	Not Present	Recused
Joe LaCava	Z			
Jennifer Campbell	\square			
Stephen Whitburn	Ĭ			
Monica Montgomery	Steppe 🔏 .			
Marni von Wilpert		Z		
Kent Lee	\square			
Raul A. Campillo	Z			
Vivian Moreno	Z,			
Sean Elo-Rivera	Z			

Date of final passage _____ DEC 1 5 2022

(Please note: When a resolution is approved by the Mayor, the date of final passage is the date the approved resolution was returned to the Office of the City Clerk.)

AUTHENTICATED BY:

TODD GLORIA Mayor of The City of San Diego, California.

ELIZABETH S. MALAND City Clerk of The City of San Diego, California.

By Connie } attenson_Deputy

Office of the City Clerk, San Diego, California

Resolution Number R- 314555

(Seal)