(D-B 4-25-23 (R-2023-563)

RESOLUTION NUMBER R- 314770

DATE OF FINAL PASSAGE MAY 01 2023

A RESOLUTION OF THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF SAN DIEGO TO ESTABLISH A PART-TIME TOW-AWAY ZONE ON FIFTH AVENUE BETWEEN BROADWAY AND K STREET.

WHEREAS, the City of San Diego intends to designate Fifth Avenue as a "slow street" under California Vehicle Code section 21101(f) to include intermittent closures to vehicle traffic; and

WHEREAS, a tow-away zone along the designated "slow street" area of Fifth Avenue, between Broadway and K Street, is necessary to implement the proposed intermittent closures; and

WHEREAS, the intermittent closure to vehicular traffic is intended to occur seven days a week, between the hours of 12 p.m. and 2 a.m.; and

WHEREAS, the proposed tow-away zone will not go into effect until the designation of the "slow street" on Fifth Avenue is effective; and

WHEREAS, tow-away parking restrictions are authorized by San Diego Municipal Code sections 86.0107 and 82.30; and

WHEREAS, the Office of the City Attorney has drafted this resolution based on the information provided by City staff, with the understanding that this information is complete, true, and accurate; NOW, THEREFORE,

BE IT RESOLVED, by the Council of the City of San Diego, that a tow-away parking zone is established on Fifth Avenue between Broadway and K Street, effective between 12 p.m. and 2 a.m. every day of the week.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, implementation of the tow-away parking zone is contingent upon the approval of an ordinance to designate Fifth Avenue as a "slow street," and will not take effect until the "slow street" designation is effective.

APPROVED: MARA W. ELLIOT	T, City Attorney
By Ryan P. Gerrity Deputy City Attorney	<del></del>
RPG:cw April 5, 2023	
Or.Dept: Transportation & Storm V	Water
CC No.: N/A	
Doc. No.: 3269516	
I certify that the foregoing Resolut meeting of APR 25 2023	DIANA J.S. FUENTES City Clerk  By Connie Fatterson
	Deputy City Clerk
Approved: 5/1/27 (date)	TODD GORIA, Mayor
Vetoed:(date)	TODD GLORIA, Mayor
	1022 0201111,1111,01

Passed by the Council of The City of Sa	APR 2 5 2023	_, by the following vote:		
Councilmembers Ye  Joe LaCava  Jennifer Campbell  Stephen Whitburn  Monica Montgomery Steppe  Marni von Wilpert  Kent Lee  Raul A. Campillo		Not Present	Recused	
Vivian Moreno				
Sean Elo-Rivera				
Date of final passage				
(Seal)	City	DIANA J.S. Ft Clerk of The City of	JENTES San Diego, California.	
By Krystell Medina , Deputy For connie patterson				
	Office of	the City Clerk, San í		
•	Resolution Nur	nber R	14770	