#S21 4-25-23

(R-2023-416)

RESOLUTION NUMBER R- 314816

DATE OF FINAL PASSAGE APR 26 2023

A RESOLUTION OF THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF SAN DIEGO CONFIRMING AN APPOINTMENT TO THE SAN DIEGO COUNTY WATER AUTHORITY BOARD OF DIRECTORS.

WHEREAS, the San Diego County Water Authority Board of Directors (Board) is the governing body responsible for the oversight and allocation of the region's imported water supply; and

WHEREAS, the Board also advises on the diversification of the region's water supply portfolio, optimization of facilities, and development of local resources to ensure a safe and reliable water supply to its twenty-four member agencies; and

WHEREAS, the Board is made up of members appointed by various agencies that belong to the San Diego County Water Authority. The City of San Diego (City) appoints ten members (Directors) to represent the City, all of whom are appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the Council of the City of San Diego (Council); and

WHEREAS, each Director is appointed to a six-year term and serves until a successor is appointed and qualified; and

WHEREAS, the Mayor now seeks Council confirmation of this appointment; and WHEREAS, the Office of the City Attorney has drafted this resolution based on the information provided by City staff, including information provided by affected third parties and verified by City staff, with the understanding that this information is complete, true, and accurate; NOW, THEREFORE,

BE IT RESOLVED, by the Council of the City of San Diego, that the following appointment by the Mayor of the City of San Diego, to serve as a Director on the San Diego County Water Authority Board of Directors, for the term ending as indicated, is made and hereby confirmed:

NAME	CATAGORY	TERM ENDING	
Stephen Whitburn (Downtown, District 3) (Filling the seat previously held by Chris Cate)	Member	January 30, 2027	

APPROVED: MARA W. ELLIOTT, City Attorney

Kathy J. Stemman Deputy City Attorney

KJS:jvg

February 14, 2023 Or.Dept: Mayor CC No. N/A

Doc. No. 3221349

I certify that the meeting of	foregoing Resolution was APR 2 5 2023	passed by the Council of the City of San Diego, at this
		DIANA J.S. FUENTES City Clerk
		By <u>Onnie Lattenson</u> Deputy City Clerk
Approved:	4 26 23 (date)	TODD GLORIA, Mayor
Vetoed:	(date)	TODD GLORIA, Mayor

Passed by the Council of The C	City of San Dieg	go onA	PR 2 5 2023	_, by the following vote:
Councilmembers	Yeas	Nays	Not Present	Recused
Joe LaCava	[7]	П		Π
Jennifer Campbell	7	П	П	Π
Stephen Whitburn	7	Ī	П	Ī
Monica Montgomery S	teppe 🔽		П	П
Marni von Wilpert	7		П	
Kent Lee	. 7	$\overline{\Box}$	П	
Raul A. Campillo	<u> </u>	П	П	П
Vivian Moreno		\overline{Z}		
Sean Elo-Rivera	\mathbf{Z}			
(Please note: When a resolu date the approved resolutio		ed to the Offi	ce of the City Cle	oria
AUTHENTICATED BY:		Mayo	or of The City of So	an Diego, California.
(Seal)		City Cle	erk of The City of S	Deputy
		Office of the	e City Clerk, San D	iego, California
	Resc	stution Numbe	31	4816