105 600-23 (R-2023-733)

RESOLUTION NUMBER R- 314999

DATE OF FINAL PASSAGE JUN 21 2023

A RESOLUTION OF THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF SAN DIEGO CONFIRMING AN APPOINTMENT AND REAPPOINTMENTS TO THE HISTORICAL RESOURCES BOARD.

WHEREAS, the Historical Resources Board (HRB) was established in 1965 by the Council of the City of San Diego (City Council) in accordance with City Charter section 43; and

WHEREAS, in 1985, the City of San Diego became a Certified Local Government (CLG) pursuant to the National Historic Preservation Act, section 101(c), for its implementation of a local historical preservation program based on federal and state standards; and

WHEREAS, the CLG program makes the City of San Diego (City) eligible for various benefits, including eligibility for a share of the state's Annual Historic Preservation Fund; and

WHEREAS, the CLG program requires that the City establish a qualified preservation review commission under local law, which is to be comprised of at least five members, all having a demonstrated interest in, competence in, or knowledge of historic preservation; and

WHEREAS, the City granted authority to its preservation review commission, the HRB, under San Diego Municipal Code section 111.0206 (Municipal Code), which establishes an 11-member board, with each member to be appointed by the Mayor and subject to confirmation by the City Council; and

WHEREAS, the Municipal Code provides that each member shall serve a two-year term without compensation and shall continue to serve until a successor is appointed; and

WHEREAS, the Municipal Code provides that no member shall serve more than four consecutive terms; members shall be appointed so that the terms of not more than six members will expire in any year; and the expiration date of all terms of appointment shall be March 1; and

WHEREAS, the Municipal Code provides that at least one board member shall be appointed from among professionals in each of the following disciplines as required to meet the CLG criteria of the State Office of Historic Preservation, as established by the National Historic Preservation Act: architecture, history, architectural history, archaeology, and landscape architecture; and

WHEREAS, other members appointed may have experience or background in law, real estate, engineering, general contracting, finance, planning, or fine arts and should reflect diverse neighborhood representation and have demonstrated a special interest in historical preservation; and

WHEREAS, no more than three owners of designated historical resources shall serve at any time; and

WHEREAS, the Office of the City Attorney has drafted this resolution based on the information provided by City staff, including information provided by affected third parties and verified by City staff, with the understanding that this information is complete, true, and accurate; NOW, THEREFORE,

BE IT RESOLVED, by the Council of the City of San Diego, that the following appointment and reappointments by the Mayor of the City of San Diego, to serve as members of the Historical Resources Board, for terms expiring as indicated, are made and hereby confirmed:

<u>NAME</u>	CATEGORY	TERM ENDING
Rammy Cortez (Little Italy, District 3) (Filling a vacant seat)	General Member	March 1, 2024
Bruce Abrams (Bankers Hill, District 3) (Reappointment)	General Member	March 1, 2025

NAME	CATEGORY	<u>TERM</u> ENDING	
David McCullough (North Park, District 3) (Reappointment)	Landscape Architect	March 1, 2025	
Michael Taylor (Bankers Hill, District 3) (Reappointment)	Archeology Professional	March 1, 2025	
Matthew Winter (Pacific Beach, District 1) (Reappointment)	General Member	March 1, 2024	

APPROVED: MARA W. ELLIOTT, City Attorney

Bv	Kant		
•	Kathy J. Steinman		
	Deputy City Attorney		

KJS:jvg:hm 5/10/23

Or.Dept: Mayor Doc. No.: 3300583

I certify that the foregoing Resolution vectors of JUN 20 2023	was passed by the Council of the City of San Diego, at this
	DIANA J.S. FUENTES City Clerk By onnie attenor Deputy City Clerk
Approved: 6/2/23 (date)	TODD CLORIA, Mayor
Vetoed:(date)	TODD GLORIA, Mayor

Passed by the Council of The G	City of San Dieg	o on J l	JN 20 2023	_ by the following vote		
Councilmembers Joe LaCava Jennifer Campbell Stephen Whitburn Monica Montgomery Stephen Wilpert Kent Lee Raul A. Campillo Vivian Moreno Sean Elo-Rivera	Yeas Yeas Yeas	Nays	Not Present	Recused		
Date of final passage						
AUTHENTICATED BY:		May	or of The City of Sa	an Diego, California.		
(Seal)		_		San Diego, California. Deputy		
	Resol		e City Clerk, San D er R 31499			