Item SHOOA

(R-2024-280 REV.)

# RESOLUTION NUMBER R-\_\_\_\_315299

DATE OF FINAL PASSAGE \_\_\_\_\_ JAN 08 2024

A RESOLUTION OF THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF SAN DIEGO CONFIRMING APPOINTMENTS OF COUNCILMEMBERS TO STANDING COMMITTEES FOR CALENDAR YEAR 2024.

WHEREAS, Rule 6.1 of the Rules of the Council, San Diego Municipal Code section 22.0101, provides for specific standing committees of the Council of the City of San Diego (Council); and

WHEREAS, Rule 6.2.1 provides that no later than the second Council meeting in January of each year, the Council President shall nominate the committee chair, vice chair, and committee members for each committee, subject to confirmation by a majority vote of the Council; and

WHEREAS, Council President Sean Elo-Rivera submitted nominations for the committee chairs, vice chairs, and committee members for the standing committees of the Council for calendar year 2024, and now seeks Council confirmation of the appointments; and

WHEREAS, the additional appointments of Councilmembers to serve on the City's Audit Committee, which is governed by the San Diego Charter, will be considered by the Council in a separate action and is not included in this Resolution; and

WHEREAS, the Office of the City Attorney has drafted this Resolution based on the information provided by City staff, with the understanding that this information is complete, true, and accurate; and

WHEREAS, under San Diego Charter section 280(a)(1), this Resolution is not subject to veto by the Mayor because this matter is exclusively within the purview of the Council and not affecting the administrative service of the City under the control of the Mayor; NOW, THEREFORE,

BE IT RESOLVED, by the Council of the City of San Diego, the Council confirms the Community and Neighborhood Services Committee, Economic Development and Intergovernmental Relations Committee, and Environment Committee shall have three committee members, and the Active Transportation and Infrastructure Committee, Budget and Government Efficiency Committee, Land Use and Housing Committee, and Public Safety Committee, and shall each have four committee members; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Council confirms the following appointments of the committee chair, vice chair, and committee members for each standing committee pursuant to Municipal Code section 22.0101 effective on January 8, 2024, to serve for a term of one year, and until a successor is duly appointed and confirmed:

## **Council President Sean-Elo-Rivera:** Chair, Committee on Rules Member, Committee on Budget and Government Efficiency

# Council President Pro Tem Joe LaCava:

Chair, Environment Committee Vice Chair, Active Transportation and Infrastructure Committee Vice Chair, Land Use and Housing Committee Vice Chair, Rules Committee Member, Budget and Government Efficiency Committee

#### **Councilmember Jennifer Campbell:**

Chair, Community and Neighborhood Services Committee Member, Economic Development and Intergovernmental Relations Committee Member, Environment Committee Member, Public Safety Committee

## -PAGE 2 OF 3-

#### **Councilmember Stephen Whitburn:**

Chair, Active Transportation and Infrastructure Committee Member, Land Use and Housing Committee Member, Public Safety Committee

#### Councilmember Marni von Wilpert:

Chair, Public Safety Committee Vice Chair, Community and Neighborhood Services Committee Vice Chair, Environment Committee Member, Active Transportation and Infrastructure Committee

#### **Councilmember Kent Lee:**

Chair, Budget and Government Efficiency Committee Chair, Land Use and Housing Committee Vice Chair, Economic Development and Intergovernmental Relations Committee Member, Active Transportation and Infrastructure Committee Member, Rules Committee

#### **Councilmember Raul Campillo:**

Chair, Economic Development and Intergovernmental Relations Committee Vice Chair, Public Safety Committee Member, Community and Neighborhood Services Committee Member, Rules Committee

#### **Councilmember Vivian Moreno:**

Vice Chair, Budget and Government Efficiency Committee Member, Land Use and Housing Committee Member, Rules Committee

APPROVED: MARA W. ELLIOTT, City Attorney

By Heather M. Ferbert (

Senior Chief Deputy City Attorney

HMF:sc:jdf 01/04/2024 01/08/2024 REV. Or.Dept: Council President Doc. No.: 3519243 2

Passed by the Council of The City of San Diego on			JAN 08 2024	_, by the following vote:
Councilmembers	Yeas	Nays	Not Present	Recused
Joe LaCava	Ź			
Jennifer Campbell	Ź			
Stephen Whitburn	Z			
District 4 - vacant				
Marni von Wilpert	Ź			
Kent Lee	$\square$			
Raul A. Campillo	$\square$			
Vivian Moreno	Z			
Sean Elo-Rivera	Ź			
JAN 08 2024				
Date of final passage		·		

(Please note: When a resolution is approved by the Mayor, the date of final passage is the date the approved resolution was returned to the Office of the City Clerk.)

AUTHENTICATED BY:

\_\_\_\_\_TODD GLORIA\_\_\_\_\_ Mayor of The City of San Diego, California.

(Seal)

\_\_\_\_\_DIANA J.S. FUENTES\_\_\_\_\_ City Clerk of The City of San Diego, California.

By Krintell Modena, Deputy

Office of the City Clerk, San Diego, California

Resolution Number R-\_\_

315299