(R-2024-269)

RESOLUTION NUMBER R- 315316

DATE OF FINAL PASSAGE JAN 29 2024

A RESOLUTION OF THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF SAN DIEGO CONFIRMING APPOINTMENTS TO THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF THE SAN DIEGO CONVENTION CENTER CORPORATION.

WHEREAS, the San Diego Convention Center Corporation (SDCCC) was incorporated as a nonprofit California corporation in 1984, with the City of San Diego as its sole member, in order to operate and manage the San Diego Convention Center; and

WHEREAS, on August 20, 1984, the Council of the City of San Diego (City Council) adopted a resolution approving the Articles of Incorporation and Bylaws of the SDCCC, as well as the agreement between the City of San Diego and the SDCCC to provide operating and maintenance services for the San Diego Convention Center, which is on file with the Office of the City Clerk as Resolution No. R-261419; and

WHEREAS, on April 28, 2015, the City Council adopted amended and restated Bylaws of the SDCCC (the Bylaws); and

WHEREAS, the Bylaws provide that there shall be seven directors of the SDCCC Board of Directors, who shall serve for three-year terms and until their successors are elected; and

WHEREAS, the Bylaws provide that directors shall include, but not be limited to, individuals with experience in the hospitality, business, labor, or legal professions; and

WHEREAS, the Bylaws further provide that the City of San Diego, acting through its City Council and in accordance with the City Charter, shall elect the Board of Directors of the SDCCC; and

WHEREAS, the Bylaws further provide that the seven directors shall include one director appointed by the City Council to represent the Council, and one director appointed by the Mayor to represent the Mayor; and

WHEREAS, the Mayor now seeks confirmation of two appointments of directors to the board; NOW, THEREFORE,

BE IT RESOLVED, by the Council of the City of San Diego, that the following appointments by the Mayor of the City of San Diego, to serve as members of the Board of Directors of the San Diego Convention Center Corporation, for terms expiring as indicated, are made and hereby confirmed:

NAME	CATEGORY	TERM ENDING	
Sam Nejabat (La Jolla, District 1) (filling seat previously held by Carol Kim)	Mayoral Candidate/Council Elected	December 1, 2026	
Gretchen Newsom (Mission Hills, District 3) (filling seat previously held by Carlos Cota)	Mayoral Candidate/Council Elected	December 1, 2026	

APPROVED: MARA W. ELLIOTT, City Attorney

By

Kathy J. Stdinman Deputy City Attorney

KJS:jvg

December 13, 2023 Or.Dept: Mayor

CC No. N/A

Doc. No. 3504243

meeting of	he foregoing Resolution was pa	assed by the Council of the City of San Diego, at this
		DIANA J.S. FUENTES City Clerk
		By <u>Connie Patterson</u> Deputy City Clerk
Approved:	1/29/24 (date)	TODD GLORIA, Mayor
Vetoed:	(date)	TODD GLORIA, Mayor

Passed by the Council of The	e City of San Diego	on <b>.</b>	JAN <b>2 3</b> 2024	_, by the following vote:			
Councilmembers Joe LaCava Jennifer Campbell Stephen Whitburn District 4 - vacant Marni von Wilpert	Yeas	Nays	Not Present	Recused			
Kent Lee Raul A. Campillo Vivian Moreno Sean Elo-Rivera							
Date of final passage	JAN <b>2 9</b> 2024	<del></del> ·					
(Please note: When a resolution is approved by the Mayor, the date of final passage is the date the approved resolution was returned to the Office of the City Clerk.)							
AUTHENTICATED BY:		May	TODD GL	ORIA an Diego, California.			
AOMENTICATED DT.		Way	,	J			
(Seal)		City Ci	<u>DIANA J.S. FU</u> erk of The City of ! 	San Diego, California.			
		ву 🔏	mnie Var	Deputy			
		Office of th	ne City Clerk, San E	Diego, California			
	Resolu	ıtion Numl	per R	316			