IHM # 5503 2/13/24 (R-2024-354) COR. COPY 2

## RESOLUTION NUMBER R- 315370

DATE OF FINAL PASSAGE FEB 1 3 2024

A RESOLUTION OF THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF SAN DIEGO CONFIRMING AN APPOINTMENT TO THE SAN DIEGO UNIFIED PORT DISTRICT BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS.

WHEREAS, the Council of the City of San Diego (Council) has the power to appoint commissioners to the San Diego Unified Port District Board of Commissioners (Port Commission) under the San Diego Unified Port District Act (Port Act); and

WHEREAS, appointments to boards and commissions are governed procedurally by Council Policy No. 000-13; and

WHEREAS, this policy permits recommendations of nominees by Councilmembers for appointments to those boards and commissions for which the Council has the power of appointment; and

WHEREAS, on January 25, 2024, Rafael Castellanos resigned from the Port Commission leaving one vacancy; and

WHEREAS, Council President Sean Elo-Rivera requested nominations to fill the unscheduled vacancy for this seat on the Port Commission, which will expire on January 2, 2025; and

WHEREAS, the following nominations have been made:

Council President Sean Elo-Rivera, Councilmember Stephen Whitburn, Councilmember Kent Lee, and Council President Pro Tem Joe LaCava nominated Sidharth Voorakkara; and

WHEREAS, the Council considered the nominees under the Council Policy 000-13 procedure at its meeting of February 13, 2024; and

(R-2024-354) COR. COPY 2

WHEREAS, the Office of the City Attorney has drafted this resolution based on the information provided by City staff, including information provided by affected third parties and verified by City staff, with the understanding that this information is complete, true, and accurate; and

WHEREAS, the appointment of Port Commissioners is in the sole discretion of the Council under the Port Act and is therefore not subject to veto; NOW, THEREFORE,

BE IT RESOLVED, by the Council of the City of San Diego, that Sidharth Voorakkara is appointed to the San Diego Unified Port District Board of Commissioners for a term ending January 2, 2025.

APPROVED: MARA W. ELLIOTT, City Attorney

By

Kathy J. Steiman Deputy City Attorney

KJS:jvg

February 6, 2024

February 12, 2024 COR. COPY

February 13, 2024 COR. COPY 2

Or.Dept: Council President

CC No. N/A

Doc. No. 3553881\_3

I certify that the foregoing Resolution was passed by the Council of the City of San Diego, at this meeting of \_\_\_\_\_\_\_.

DIANA J.S. FUENTES

City Clerk

Deputy City Clerk

Passed by the Council of The	e City of San Dieg	o on FE	B 1 3 2024	_, by the following vote:
Councilmembers Joe LaCava Jennifer Campbell Stephen Whitburn District 4 - vacant Marni von Wilpert Kent Lee Raul A. Campillo	Yeas	Nays	Not Present	Recused
Vivian Moreno Sean Elo-Rivera	Z Z			
Date of final passage FEB 1 3 2024  (Please note: When a resolution is approved by the Mayor, the date of final passage is the date the approved resolution was returned to the Office of the City Clerk.)				
AUTHENTICATED BY:		Mayo	TODD GL or of The City of S	<u>ORIA</u> an Diego, California.
(Seal)			<u></u>	JENTES San Diego, California.  Cultural Deputy
	Reso	Office of the	e City Clerk, San D	