IHM#111 2/27/29 (R-2024-361)

RESOLUTION NUMBER R- 315389

DATE OF FINAL PASSAGE MAR 0 4 2024

A RESOLUTION OF THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF SAN DIEGO CONFIRMING AN APPOINTMENT TO THE CIVIL SERVICE COMMISSION.

WHEREAS, the City of San Diego's Civil Service Commission (Commission) is established in San Diego Charter (Charter) section 41(b); and

WHEREAS, the Commission has supervision over the selection, promotion, and removal of all City of San Diego (City) employees, subject to the Civil Service provisions in Charter section 115; and

WHEREAS, the Commission is to be composed of five members who are electors of the City; and

WHEREAS, members are to serve five-year terms and serve until a successor is appointed and qualified, and are to be appointed so that no more than one individual's term shall expire in a given year; and

WHEREAS, the Mayor shall appoint Commission members, subject to confirmation by the Council of the City of San Diego; and

WHEREAS, members shall not hold any other office in City government; and WHEREAS, the Office of the City Attorney has drafted this resolution based on the information provided by City staff, including information provided by affected third parties and verified by City staff, with the understanding that this information is complete, true, and accurate; NOW, THEREFORE,

BE IT RESOLVED, by the Council of the City of San Diego, that the following appointment by the Mayor of the City of San Diego, to serve as a member of the City of San Diego's Civil Service Commission, for a term ending as indicated, is made and hereby confirmed:

<u>NAME</u>	CATAGORY	TERM ENDING
Samuel Merrill (Encanto, District 4) (Appointment replacing Aaron Olsen)	Member	January 9, 2029

APPROVED: MARA W. ELLIOTT, City Attorney $\mathbf{B}\mathbf{y}$ Kathy J. Steinman Deputy City Attorney KJS:jvg February 7, 2024 Or.Dept: Mayor CC No. N/A Doc. No. 3557259 I certify that the foregoing Resolution was passed by the Council of the City of San Diego, at this meeting of FEB 27 2024 meeting of _ DIANA J.S. FUENTES City Clerk Approved: Vetoed: (date) TODD GLORIA, Mayor

Passed by the Council of The	e City of San Dieg	go onFE	B 27 2024	_, by the following vote:		
Councilmembers Joe LaCava Jennifer Campbell Stephen Whitburn District 4 - vacant Marni von Wilpert Kent Lee Raul A. Campillo Vivian Moreno Sean Elo-Rivera	Yeas	Nays	Not Present	Recused		
Date of final passageMAR 0 4 2024 (Please note: When a resolution is approved by the Mayor, the date of final passage is the date the approved resolution was returned to the Office of the City Clerk.)						
AUTHENTICATED BY: M			TODD GLORIA yor of The City of San Diego, California.			
(Seal)				JENTES San Diego, California. June , Deputy Patterson		
	Res	Office of the	e City Clerk, San I			