5504 4-9-24

(R-2024-469)

RESOLUTION NUMBER R- 315484

DATE OF FINAL PASSAGE APR 0 9 2024

A RESOLUTION OF THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF SAN DIEGO CONFIRMING AMENDMENTS TO APPOINTMENTS OF COUNCILMEMBERS TO STANDING COMMITTEES FOR CALENDAR YEAR 2024.

WHEREAS, Rule 6.1 of the Rules of the Council, San Diego Municipal Code section 22.0101, provides for specific standing committees of the Council of the City of San Diego (Council); and

WHEREAS, Rule 6.2.1 provides that no later than the second Council meeting in January of each year, the Council President shall nominate the committee chair, vice chair, and committee members for each committee, subject to confirmation by a majority vote of the Council; and

WHEREAS, on January 8, 2024, by San Diego Resolution R-315299, the Council confirmed Council President Sean Elo-Rivera's nominations for the Council's standing committees for calendar year 2024 and at that time Council District 4 was vacant by the resignation of Monica Montgomery-Steppe, due to her election to the San Diego County Board of Supervisors in November 2023; and

WHEREAS, on April 8, 2024, Council certified the election results in the special election to fill the vacancy for the Councilmember representing Council District 4 and Councilmember Henry Foster III joined the Council effective April 8, 2024; and

WHEREAS, now Council President Sean Elo-Rivera has issued a memo proposing to change the Council standing committees for the remainder of calendar year 2024 to add Councilmember Henry Foster III, and now seeks Council confirmation of the appointments; and

WHEREAS, the Office of the City Attorney has drafted this Resolution based on the information provided by City staff, with the understanding that this information is complete, true, and accurate; and

WHEREAS, under San Diego Charter section 280(a)(1), this Resolution is not subject to veto by the Mayor because this matter is exclusively within the purview of the Council and not affecting the administrative service of the City under the control of the Mayor; NOW, THEREFORE,

BE IT RESOLVED, by the Council of the City of San Diego, the Council confirms the Community and Neighborhood Services Committee, Economic Development and Intergovernmental Relations Committee, Environment Committee, the Active Transportation and Infrastructure Committee, Budget and Government Efficiency Committee, Land Use and Housing Committee, and Public Safety Committee shall each have four committee members; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Council confirms the following appointments of the committee chair, vice chair, and committee members for each standing committee pursuant to Municipal Code section 22.0101, effective on the date of passage of this Resolution pursuant to San Diego Charter section 295(b), to serve for a term of one year, and until a successor is duly appointed and confirmed:

Council President Sean-Elo-Rivera:

Chair, Committee on Rules Member, Environment Committee

Council President Pro Tem Joe LaCava:

Chair, Environment Committee
Vice Chair, Active Transportation and Infrastructure Committee
Vice Chair, Land Use and Housing Committee
Vice Chair, Rules Committee
Member, Budget and Government Efficiency Committee

Councilmember Jennifer Campbell:

Chair, Community and Neighborhood Services Committee Member, Economic Development and Intergovernmental Relations Committee Member, Environment Committee Member, Public Safety Committee

Councilmember Stephen Whitburn:

Chair, Active Transportation and Infrastructure Committee Member, Land Use and Housing Committee Member, Public Safety Committee

Councilmember Henry Foster III:

Member, Active Transportation and Infrastructure Committee
Member, Budget and Government Efficiency Committee
Member, Community and Neighborhood Services Committee
Member, Economic Development and Intergovernmental Relations Committee

Councilmember Marni von Wilpert:

Chair, Public Safety Committee
Vice Chair, Community and Neighborhood Services Committee
Vice Chair, Environment Committee
Member, Active Transportation and Infrastructure Committee

Councilmember Kent Lee:

Chair, Budget and Government Efficiency Committee Chair, Land Use and Housing Committee Vice Chair, Economic Development and Intergovernmental Relations Committee Member, Rules Committee

Councilmember Raul Campillo:

Chair, Economic Development and Intergovernmental Relations Committee Vice Chair, Public Safety Committee Member, Community and Neighborhood Services Committee Member, Rules Committee

Councilmember Vivian Moreno:

Vice Chair, Budget and Government Efficiency Committee Member, Land Use and Housing Committee Member, Rules Committee

APPROVED: MARA W. ELLIOTT, City Attorney

ADHeather M. Ferbert

Senior Chief Deputy City Attorney

HMF:sc:jdf:nja 03/26/2024

Or. Dept: Council President

Doc. No.: 3600761

APR 0 9 2024

Passed by the Council of The City of San Diego on				_, by the following vote:	
Councilmembers	Yeas	Nays	Not Present	Recused	
Joe LaCava	\square				
Jennifer Campbell	$\bar{\mathbb{Z}}$				
Stephen Whitburn	$\overline{\mathbb{Z}}$				
Henry L. Foster III	Ź				
Marni von Wilpert					
Kent Lee					
Raul A. Campillo	\square				
Vivian Moreno	\square .				
Sean Elo-Rivera	Z				
Date of final passage APR	0 9 2024				
(Please note: When a resolut date the approved resolution		-	•		
TODD			TODD GL	ORIA	
AUTHENTICATED BY:		Mayor of The City of San Diego, California.			
			DIANA J.S. FU		
(Seal)		City Cle	rk of The City of S	San Diego, California.	
		ву Ж	uptelgu	edna, Deputy	
		Office of the	e City Clerk, San D	Diego, California	
	Res	olution Numbe	er R	15484	