$T_{1}en # 618$ 4|22|24(R-2024-472)

315499

RESOLUTION NUMBER R-_____

. 2

DATE OF FINAL PASSAGE APR 2 92024

A RESOLUTION OF THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF SAN DIEGO CONFIRMING APPOINTMENTS TO THE CLIMATE ADVISORY BOARD.

WHEREAS, the Climate Advisory Board (Board) is established in San Diego Municipal Code sections 26.40 and 26.41 (Municipal Code) to advise the Mayor and Council of the City of San Diego (Council) on policies and issues related to climate, environment, environmental justice, energy justice, climate equity, sustainability, and energy for the City of San Diego (City) and to assist the City in implementing the Climate Action Plan and attaining the City's stated goals in these areas; and

WHEREAS, the Municipal Code provides the Board shall consist of 15 members appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the Council; and

WHEREAS, the Municipal Code provides that of the 15 members: (1) the Mayor shall appoint six members, giving preference to those who have expertise in decarbonization, mobility or planning, land use, public health related to climate change, climate or environmental science, finance or economics, those representing labor organizations, the renewable energy industry, environmental or energy justice organizations, zero waste or circular economy, the clean technology industry, youth climate leadership, or citizen of a federally recognized tribe; and (2) the Mayor shall appoint the remaining nine members to represent each Council district based on nominations provided by each Councilmember, giving preference to those who have expertise in the areas described above; and

WHEREAS, the Municipal Code provides members shall serve two-year staggered terms; each member shall serve until a successor is duly appointed and confirmed; and all terms must have expiration dates of August 1; and WHEREAS, initial members shall be appointed in a manner to allow the terms to be staggered; and

.

WHEREAS, for the initial appointments, eight members shall be appointed to two-year terms, and seven members shall be appointed to one-year terms; and

WHEREAS, initial appointments that are less than the full term of two years shall not have the initial term count for purposes of the eight-year limit; and

WHEREAS, the Mayor now seeks Council confirmation of appointments to the Board; and

WHEREAS, the Office of the City Attorney has drafted this resolution based on the information provided by City staff, including information provided by affected third parties and verified by City staff, with the understanding that this information is complete, true, and accurate; NOW, THEREFORE,

BE IT RESOLVED, by the Council of the City of San Diego, as follows:

1. The following appointments by the Mayor to serve as members of the Climate

Advisory Board, for terms expiring as indicated below, are made and hereby confirmed:

NAME	CATEGORY	TERM ENDING August 1, 2025	
Dr. Cindy Lin (District 1 – Carmel Valley) (Appointment filling a vacant seat)	District 1 Member		
Josh Dean (District 2 – Point Loma) (Appointment filling a vacant seat)	District 2 Member	August 1, 2025	
Mahayala Slackerelli (District 3 – North Park) (Appointment filling a vacant seat)	District 3 Member	August 1, 2025	

4.

Dr. Madison Swayne (District 4 – Oak Park) (Appointment filling a vacant seat)	District 4 Member	August 1, 2025
Alexa Marie Kerr (District 5 – Rancho Peñasquitos) (Appointment filling a vacant seat)	District 5 Member	August 1, 2025
Kelly Lyndon (District 6 – University City) (Appointment filling a vacant seat)	District 6 Member	August 1, 2025
Whitney Pearce (District 7 – San Carlos) (Appointment filling a vacant seat)	District 7 Member	August 1, 2025
Elisa Velasquez (District 9 – City Heights) (Appointment filling a vacant seat)	District 9 Member	August 1, 2025
Jason Anderson (District 3 – Bankers Hill) (Appointment filling a vacant seat)	General Member	August 1, 2024
Cristina Marquez (District 2 – Ocean Beach) (Appointment filling a vacant seat)	General Member	August 1, 2024
Tanisha-Jean Martin (El Cajon) (Appointment filling a vacant seat)	General Member	August 1, 2024
Amy Ly (District 3 – Mission Hills) (Appointment filling a vacant seat)	General Member	August 1, 2024

.

Kelly Mills (District 9 – Mission Valley) (Appointment filling a vacant seat)	General Member	August 1, 2024	
JD Weidman (District 3 – Mission Valley) (Appointment filling a vacant seat)	General Member	August 1, 2024	

2. Under Council Policy 000-13, for purposes of deliberation and consideration of

appointment, the Council determines that Tanisha-Jean Martin is a resident of San Diego

County, but not the City of San Diego, and has unique qualifications to serve as a member of the

Climate Advisory Board, therefore, a conscious exception to Council Policy 000-13 is hereby

declared.

APPROVED: MARA W. ELLIOTT, City Attorney

By

Kathy J. Steinman Senior Deputy City Attorney

KJS:jvg April 3, 2024 Or.Dept: Mayor CC No. N/A Doc. No. 3603633

I certify that the foregoing Resolution was passed by the Council of the City of San Diego, at this APR 2 2 2024 meeting of _____

> DIANA J.S. FUENTES City Clerk

edunator Connie Pattersov By Deputy City Clerk

Approved:

Vetoed:

(date)

TODD GLORIA, Mayor

Passed by the Council of The C	ity of San Dieg	go on	APR 22 2024	_, by the following vote:
Councilmembers	Yeas	Nays	Not Present	Recused
Joe LaCava	\square			
Jennifer Campbell	Ź			
Stephen Whitburn	Ż			
Henry L. Foster III	Ź			
Marni von Wilpert	Ź			
Kent Lee	Ź			
Raul A. Campillo	Z			
Vivian Moreno	Ź			
Sean Elo-Rivera	Ĭ			
APR	2 9 2024			

Date of final passage ______.

(Please note: When a resolution is approved by the Mayor, the date of final passage is the date the approved resolution was returned to the Office of the City Clerk.)

AUTHENTICATED BY:

TODD GLORIA Mayor of The City of San Diego, California.

DIANA J.S. FUENTES City Clerk of The City of San Diego, California.

By Kupptell Medina Porcon

Office of the City Clerk, San Diego, California

Resolution Number R-_

315499

(Seal)