T+m #105 7/16/24 (R-2024-676)

## RESOLUTION NUMBER R- 315683

## 

## A RESOLUTION OF THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF SAN DIEGO CONFIRMING REAPPOINTMENTS TO THE COMMISSION ON POLICE PRACTICES.

WHEREAS, San Diego City Charter (Charter) section 41.2 and San Diego Municipal Code sections 26.1101 through 26.1115 (Municipal Code) established the Commission on Police Practices (Commission) to supersede the Community Review Board on Police Practices; and

WHEREAS, under Charter section 41.2, the Commission is an investigatory body of the City of San Diego (City), independent of the Mayor and the Police Department (SDPD); and

WHEREAS, the Municipal Code states that the Commission's purpose is: (1) to provide independent community oversight of SDPD, directed at increasing community trust in SDPD and increasing safety for both members of the community and police officers; (2) to perform independent investigations of police officer-involved shootings, in-custody deaths, and other significant incidents involving SDPD, and independent evaluations of complaints against SDPD and its personnel, in a process that is transparent and accountable to the community; and (3) to evaluate and review SDPD policies, practices, training, and protocols, and represent the community in making recommendations for changes; and

WHEREAS, under the Municipal Code, the Commission has investigatory, review, and auditing powers, including the power to make factual determinations about matters that are investigated and to make advisory recommendations regarding the actions of police officers and the procedures, policies, and practices of SDPD; and WHEREAS, Council Policy 000-13 sets forth the procedure for the appointment and confirmation of members of boards, commissions, committees, and other bodies by the Council of the City of San Diego (Council); and

WHEREAS, the Municipal Code provides that the Commission consist of 25 members appointed by and confirmed by Council; and

WHEREAS, all members must reside in the City at the time of their appointment or reappointment and throughout their service on the Commission. Council cannot waive this requirement; and

WHEREAS, under the Municipal Code, Council must appoint members to the Commission, without considering citizenship status, who reflect the diversity of the City, by including members who represent the City's diverse geographic areas and socio-economic, cultural, racial, ethnic, gender, gender identity, sexual orientation, and age differences, and who have differing personal backgrounds, education, occupations, and life experiences; and

WHEREAS, in making appointments, Council may consider written nominations from the Commission and nominations made by the public and community-based organizations, as long as nominees accept their nomination in writing prior to Council consideration; and

WHEREAS, Council must make appointments to specific designated seats as follows: (1) one member for each of the nine Council districts who reside in the Council district for the seat to which they are appointed; (2) two members in the age range of 18 to 24 at the time of appointment, who are appointed to serve in two designated youth seats; (3) five members who reside in and represent those City residents living in low- and moderate-income United States Census tracts; and (4) nine at large members; and

WHEREAS, Council's appointment of the at large members shall prioritize the appointment of individuals who have had prior contact or interactions with law enforcement;

(R-2024-676)

individuals with experience or expertise in substance abuse addiction treatment; individuals involved or with expertise in services for or directed towards the unhoused; individuals involved or with expertise in immigration or migrant services; individuals who were or are criminal justice system impacted; individuals involved or with expertise in mental health, restorative justice, social work, or law enforcement practices and oversight; and individuals with experience or expertise in civil rights advocacy; and

WHEREAS, an applicant or nominee shall be excluded for the following reasons: (1) they have been convicted of malfeasance in office, and their civil rights have not been restored; (2) they have been convicted of a felony and are on parole, post-release community supervision, felony probation, or mandated supervision for the conviction of a felony; (3) they are required to register as a sex offender pursuant to California Penal Code section 290 based on a felony conviction; (4) they are incarcerated in any prison or jail; (5) they have been found in violation, by a state or local judicial or administrative body, of any of the following: (i) misuse of a public position for personal interests; (ii) misuse of City records; or (iii) violation of federal or state laws relating to confidentiality or City employee privacy; or (6) they have been convicted of a violent crime against a government employee or official, which means a person who is employed by the United States government, the State of California, or any city, county, city and county, special district, or political subdivision of the State of California; and

WHEREAS, Municipal Code section 26.1104 states members shall serve two-year terms and all terms shall expire on June 30 in the year of termination; and

WHEREAS, the Office of the City Attorney has drafted this resolution based on the information provided by City staff, including information provided by affected third parties and verified by City staff, with the understanding that this information is complete, true, and accurate; and

WHEREAS, under Charter section 280(a)(1), the Council reappointment of members of the Commission are not subject to veto by the Mayor, NOW, THEREFORE,

BE IT RESOLVED, by the Council of the City of San Diego that the following reappointments, to serve as members of the Commission on Police Practices, for terms expiring as indicated, are made and hereby confirmed:

NAME	CATEGORY	<b>TERM ENDING</b> June 30, 2026	
Clovis Honore	At Large Member		
Maria Guadalupe Lozano-Diaz	At Large Member	June 30, 2026	
John T. Armantrout	At Large Member	June 30, 2026	
Darlanne Mulmat	District 1 Member	June 30, 2026	
Alec Beyer	District 2 Member	June 30, 2026	
Octavio Aguilar	District 5 Member	June 30, 2026	
Stephen E. Chatzky	District 6 Member	June 30, 2026	
Dr. Dennis Brown	District 7 Member	June 30, 2026	
Douglas E. Case	Low-to-Moderate Income Member	June 30, 2026	

APPROVED: MARA W. ELLIOTT, City Attorney

Kathy J. Steinman Senior Deputy City Attorney

KJS:jvg June 26, 2024 Or.Dept: Council President CC No. N/A Doc. No. 3704108

By

. .

I certify that the foregoing Resolution was passed by the Council of the City of San Diego, at this meeting of \_\_\_\_\_\_\_\_.

.

. .

DIANA J.S. FUENTES City Clerk

Connie Patterson Deputy City Clerk By Con

assed by the council of the city of ban blego on ode _ o _oo, by the following vot	Passed b	y the Council of The Cit	y of San Diego on	JUL 16 2024	, by the following vot
--	----------	--------------------------	-------------------	-------------	------------------------

Councilmembers	Yeas	Nays	Not Present	Recused
Joe LaCava	Z			
Jennifer Campbell	Z			
Stephen Whitburn	Z			
Henry L. Foster III	Ø			
Marni von Wilpert	$\square$			
Kent Lee	$\square$			
Raul A. Campillo	$\square$			
Vivian Moreno	$\square$			
Sean Elo-Rivera	Z			

Date of final passage \_\_\_\_\_\_ JUL 1 6 2024 \_\_\_\_\_.

(Please note: When a resolution is approved by the Mayor, the date of final passage is the date the approved resolution was returned to the Office of the City Clerk.)

AUTHENTICATED BY:

TODD GLORIA Mayor of The City of San Diego, California.

(Seal)

DIANA J.S. FUENTES City Clerk of The City of San Diego, California.

By Connie Datterson Deputy

Office of the City Clerk, San Diego, California

315683

Resolution Number R-\_\_\_