I+m #108 7/30/24 (R-2025-18)

RESOLUTION NUMBER R- 315724

DATE OF FINAL PASSAGE \_\_\_\_AUG 01 2024

A RESOLUTION OF THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF SAN DIEGO CONFIRMING APPOINTMENTS TO THE RESILIENCY ADVISORY BOARD.

WHEREAS, the Resiliency Advisory Board (Board) is established in San Diego

Municipal Code sections 26.1001 through 26.1003 (Municipal Code) to advise the Mayor and

Council of the City of San Diego (Council) on policies and issues related to natural resource

conservation, climate resiliency and adaptation, wetlands, habitat preservation, biodiversity, and
the Climate Resilient SD Plan, and to assist the City of San Diego in attaining its stated goals in
these areas; and

WHEREAS, the Municipal Code provides the Board shall consist of 11 members appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the Council; and

WHEREAS, the Municipal Code provides that in appointing members, the Mayor shall give preference to those who have expertise in climate resiliency and adaptation, climate or environmental science, biodiversity or biology, outdoor recreation access, emergency readiness or response, food security, agriculture, or natural resource conservation, or those representing environmental justice organizations, labor organizations, youth leadership, or citizen of a federally recognized tribe; and

WHEREAS, under the Municipal Code, the Mayor shall appoint two general members and shall appoint the remaining nine members to represent each Council district based on nominations provided by each Councilmember, giving preference to those who have expertise in the areas described above; and

WHEREAS, Board members should be generally representative of San Diego's demographic composition, including diversity of background and experience. At least four members should primarily reside or work in Communities of Concern, as designated by the City's Climate Equity Index; and

WHEREAS, no member shall be employed by or otherwise contracted or hired by, or serve on the board of directors of, any for-profit business serving in a major contracting role with the City of San Diego as defined in San Diego Municipal Code section 26.1002(b)(5), as may be amended; and

WHEREAS, the Municipal Code provides members: shall serve two-year staggered terms; each member shall serve until a successor is duly appointed and confirmed; and all terms must have expiration dates of August 1; and

WHEREAS, initial members shall be appointed in a manner to allow the terms to be staggered; and

WHEREAS, for the initial appointments, six members shall be appointed to two-year terms, and five members shall be appointed to one-year terms; and

WHEREAS, initial appointments that are less than the full term of two years shall not have the initial term count for purposes of the eight-year limit; and

WHEREAS, the Mayor now seeks Council confirmation of appointments to the Board; and

WHEREAS, the Office of the City Attorney has drafted this resolution based on the information provided by City staff, including information provided by affected third parties and verified by City staff, with the understanding that this information is complete, true, and accurate; NOW, THEREFORE,

## BE IT RESOLVED, by the Council of the City of San Diego, as follows:

1. The following appointments by the Mayor to serve as members of the Resiliency Advisory Board, for terms expiring as indicated below, are made and hereby confirmed:

NAME	CATEGORY	TERM ENDING
Ian Clampett (District 7 – Serra Mesa) (Appointment filling a vacant seat)	District 1 Member	August 1, 2025
Cynthia Rose Harris (District 2 - Clairemont) (Appointment filling a vacant seat)	District 2 Member	August 1, 2025
Erika Morgan (District 3 – Little Italy) (Appointment filling a vacant seat)	District 3 Member	August 1, 2025
Stan Williams (District 5 – Scripps Ranch) (Appointment filling a vacant seat)	District 5 Member	August 1, 2025
Eric James Lardy (District 6 – University City) (Appointment filling a vacant seat)	District 6 Member	August 1, 2025
A-bel Yee Gong (District 7 – Linda Vista) (Appointment filling a vacant seat)	District 7 Member	August 1, 2025
James Garrett (District 9 – City Heights) (Appointment filling a vacant seat)	General Member	August 1, 2024

Andrew Meyer (District 1 – Pacific Beach) (Appointment filling a vacant seat)	General Member	August 1, 2024
APPROVED: MARA W. ELLIOTT, City A  By  Kathy J. Steinman Senior Deputy City Attorney	attorney	
KJS:jvg July 10, 2024 Or.Dept: Mayor CC No. N/A Doc. No. 3715844		
I certify that the foregoing Resolution was pmeeting of JUL 3 0 2024	passed by the Council of the C	City of San Diego, at this
	DIANA J.S. FUENT City Clerk By Connie Deputy City C	Patterson-
Approved: 8/1/24 (date)	TODD C	LOR A Mayor
Vetoed:	_	

TODD GLORIA, Mayor

(date)

Passed by the Council of The City of	San Diego on	JUL 30 2024	, by the following vote:		
Councilmembers Joe LaCava Jennifer Campbell Stephen Whitburn Henry L. Foster III Marni von Wilpert Kent Lee Raul A. Campillo Vivian Moreno Sean Elo-Rivera	Yeas Na	Not Present	Recused		
Date of final passage  (Please note: When a resolution is approved by the Mayor, the date of final passage is the date the approved resolution was returned to the Office of the City Clerk.)					
AUTHENTICATED BY:		TODD G Mayor of The City of !			
(Seal)	<del>-</del>	DIANA J.S. FUENTES  City Clerk of The City of San Diego, California.			
By Krystul Medina, Deputy for connie patterson					
	Office	Office of the City Clerk, San Diego, California			
	Resolution I	Number R	315724		

, .