603 7-30-27

(R-2025-49)

RESOLUTION NUMBER R- 315737

DATE OF FINAL PASSAGE AUG 05 2024

A RESOLUTION OF THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF SAN DIEGO CONFIRMING REAPPOINTMENTS TO THE SAN DIEGO HOUSING COMMISSION BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS.

WHEREAS, the San Diego Housing Commission (Housing Commission) is established in San Diego Municipal Code (Municipal Code) section 98.0301 to act as a housing commission under the Housing Authorities Law of the State of California; and

WHEREAS, the Housing Commission Board of Commissioners (Board) is the governing body of the Housing Commission consisting of seven members appointed through the process in Municipal Code section 98.0301(f); and

WHEREAS, two of the seven Board members shall be tenants of Commission-owned units or recipients of housing assistance through the United States Department of Housing and Urban Development's tenant-based housing choice voucher program (Tenant of Housing Authority Commissioners), and at least one of the Tenant of Housing Authority Commissioners shall be older than 62; and

WHEREAS, Municipal Code section 98.0301(f)(2) also provides that each Board member, except the two Tenant of Housing Authority Commissioners, shall have at least five years of experience in one or more of the following areas: real estate finance, affordable housing, homelessness, workforce development, healthcare, nonprofit education, or community based-organizations; and

WHEREAS, the term of office of each Board member shall be four years, except, pursuant to California Health and Safety Code section 34272, the terms for the two Tenant of Housing Authority Commissioners shall be two years; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to Municipal Code section 98.0301(f)(4), whenever the Mayor does not appoint a Board member within 45 days after a vacancy occurs, the Council of the City of San Diego (Council) shall make such an appointment; and

WHEREAS, on July 18, 2024, the Council President issued a memorandum calling for nominations for Council appointments to the Board (Memo); and

WHEREAS, the Memo required Councilmembers to submit all nominations directly to the Director of Legislative Affairs by 5:00 p.m. on July 23, 2024; and

WHEREAS, the Memo identified three seats that have been vacant for at least 45 days, including the two Tenant of Housing Authority seats; and

WHEREAS, the Director of Legislative Affairs received a nomination to reappoint

Johanna Hester to the Qualified Member seat Ms. Hester currently occupies on an expired term;

and

WHEREAS, the Council also wishes to reappoint Antoine Pierre Jackson and Kellee Hubbard to the Tenant of Housing Authority seats they currently occupy on expired terms; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to Council Policy 000-13, if the number of nominees equals the number of vacancies, the nominees may be elected by general consent or acclamation to fill the vacancies; and

WHEREAS, the Office of the City Attorney has drafted this resolution based on the information provided by City staff, including information provided by affected third parties and verified by City staff, with the understanding that this information is complete, true, and accurate; NOW, THEREFORE,

BE IT RESOLVED, by the Council of the City of San Diego, that the following reappointments by the Council, to serve as members of the San Diego Housing Commission Board of Commissioners, for terms expiring as indicated, are made and hereby confirmed:

<u>NAME</u>	CATEGORY	TERM ENDING January 2, 2026 January 2, 2026	
Antoine Pierre Jackson (Serra Mesa, District 7) (Reappointment)	Tenant of Housing Authority Seat		
Kellee Hubbard (Redwood Village, District 4) (Reappointment)	Tenant of Housing Authority Seat		
Johanna Hester (Scripps Ranch, District 5) (Reappointment)	Qualified Member Scat	January 2, 2028	

APPROVED: MARA W. ELLIOTT, City Attorney

Ву

Justin R. Bargar

Deputy City Attorney

JRB:cw 7/26/2024

Or.Dept: Council President's Office

CC No.: N/A Doc. No.: 3734801

meeting of	JUL 3 0 2024	is passed by the Council of the City of San Diego, at this
		DIANA J.S. FUENTES City Clerk By
		Deputy City Clerk
Approved:	8/2/24 (date)	TODD GLONIA, Mayor
Vetoed:		
	(date)	TODD GLORIA Mayor

Passed by the Council of Th	ne City of San Die	ego on	JUL 3 0 2024	_, by the follov	ving vote:	
Councilmembers	Yeas —	Nays —	Not Present	Recused —		
Joe LaCava						
Jennifer Campbell	\square					
Stephen Whitburn	\square					
Henry L. Foster III	Ø					
Marni von Wilpert	$ ot \!$					
Kent Lee						
Raul A. Campillo						
Vivian Moreno			$ \underline{ u}$			
Sean Elo-Rivera	Ø					
	AUG 05 2024					
Date of final passage	Aud Voles	·				
(Please note: When a res date the approved resolu		=	=	erk.)	e is the	
AUTHENTICATED BY:		May	or of The City of S		ornia.	
			DIANA J.S. F			
(Seal)		City Cl	erk of The City of	San Diego, Cali	fornia.	
		Вуф	crystelf	redina	, Deputy	
		Office of the City Clerk, San Diego, California				
	Re	solution Numb	per R3	15737		

, ,