RESOLUTION NUMBER R- 315993

DATE OF FINAL PASSAGE JAN 2 3 2025

A RESOLUTION OF THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF SAN DIEGO CONFIRMING APPOINTMENTS OF ALTERNATES TO THE SAN DIEGUITO RIVER VALLEY REGIONAL OPEN SPACE PARK BOARD AND THE NORTH COUNTY TRANSIT DISTRICT BOARD OF DIRECTORS FOR CALENDAR YEAR 2025.

## **RECITALS**

The Council of the City of San Diego (Council) adopts this Resolution based on the following:

- A. Each year, the City of San Diego (City) appoints elected officials to serve as representatives, alternates, and liaisons to various outside boards, commissions, committees, and governmental agencies.
- B. In San Diego Resolution R-315971 (Dec. 19, 2024), the Council confirmed the appointments of Mayor Todd Gloria and Councilmembers to outside agencies for the 2025 calendar year.
- C. These appointments included the appointment of Council President Joe LaCava to the San Dieguito River Valley Open Space Park Board (San Dieguito Board) and Council President Pro Tem Kent Lee to the North County Transit Board of Directors (NCTD Board).
- D. Section 6(a) of the Amended and Restated Joint Exercise of Powers Agreement (Agreement) between the County of San Diego and the Cities of Del Mar, Escondido, Poway, San Diego, and Solana Beach creating the San Dieguito River Valley Regional Open Space Park Joint Powers Authority authorizes the City to select two San Dieguito Board members, which can be either two elected officials from the City or one elected official and one designee appointed by the governmental body. Section 6(e) of the Agreement authorizes the Council to

select alternates for each San Dieguito Board member it appointed to act in the absence of that member, stating "[a]lternates shall be chosen in the same manner as Board Members . . . ."

- E. On January 3, 2025, Council President Joe LaCava nominated Brian Elliott as his alternate to the San Dieguito River Valley Open Space Park Board.
- F. Under Public Utilities Code section 125051, each city and the county represented on the NCTD Board appoints one alternate member to serve on the NCTD Board when the regular member is not available. When serving on the NCTD Board, the alternate shall be subject to the same restrictions and shall have the same powers as the member.
- G. On January 6, 2025, Council President Pro Tem Kent Lee nominated Madison Coleman as his alternate to the NCTD Board.
- H. The Office of the City Attorney has drafted this resolution based on the information provided by City staff, with the understanding that this information is complete, true, and accurate.

## **ACTION ITEMS**

Be it resolved by the Council of the City of San Diego:

1. The appointment of Brian Elliott as the alternate to Council President Joe LaCava on the San Dieguito River Valley Open Space Park Board to serve through December 2025, and until a successor is duly appointed and confirmed, is made and hereby confirmed.

| 2. The appointment of Madison Coleman as the alternate to Council President  |   |  |  |  |
|--|---|--|--|--|
| Pro Tem Kent Lee to the North County Transit Dis                             | trict Board of Directors to serve through       |  |  |  |
| December 2025, and until a successor is duly appo                            | inted and confirmed, is made and hereby         |  |  |  |
| confirmed.   |   |  |  |  |
| APPROVED: HEATHER FERBERT, City Attorne                                      | еу  |  |  |  |
| By Kathy J. Steinman Interim Chief Deputy City Attorney                      |   |  |  |  |
| KJS:jvg<br>January 8, 2025<br>Or.Dept: Council President<br>Doc. No. 3919433 |   |  |  |  |
| I certify that the Council of the City of San Diego a                        | adopted this Resolution at a meeting held on    |  |  |  |
|  | DIANA J.S. FUENTES<br>City Clerk                |  |  |  |
|  | By <u>Connie Patterson</u><br>Deputy City Clerk |  |  |  |
| Approved: 1/23/25 (date)   | TODD GLOR Mayor                                 |  |  |  |
| Vetoed:(date)  | TODD GLORIA, Mayor                              |  |  |  |

| Passed by the Council of The C  | ity of San Dieg | o on <u>JA</u>                              | N 1 4 2025               | _, by the following vote |  |  |
|---|-----------------|---|--------------------------|--------------------------|--|--|
| Councilmembers Joe LaCava Jennifer Campbell Stephen Whitburn Henry L. Foster III Marni von Wilpert Kent Lee Raul A. Campillo  | Yeas  Yeas      | Nays  | Not Present              | _, by the following vote |  |  |
| Vivian Moreno   |                 |   | <u> </u>                 |                          |  |  |
| Sean Elo-Rivera   | Ų               |   | Ц                        |                          |  |  |
| Date of final passage <b>JAN</b>  | <b>2 3</b> 2025 | ·   |                          |                          |  |  |
| (Please note: When a resolution is approved by the Mayor, the date of final passage is the date the approved resolution was returned to the Office of the City Clerk.)  TODD GLORIA |                 |   |                          |                          |  |  |
| AUTHENTICATED BY:   |                 | Mayor of The City of San Diego, California. |                          |                          |  |  |
| (Seal)  |                 |   |                          | San Diego, California.   |  |  |
|   |                 | Ву <u>С</u>                                 | muefac                   | tuson, Deputy            |  |  |
|   |                 | Office of the                               | e City Clerk, San D      | Diego, California        |  |  |
|   | Reso            | lution Numb                                 | er R- <u>31<b>59</b></u> | 93                       |  |  |

\* 1 ×