Itm #102 1/28/25 (R-2025-328)

RESOLUTION NUMBER R- 316003

DATE OF FINAL PASSAGE JAN 3 0 2025

A RESOLUTION OF THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF SAN DIEGO CONFIRMING AN APPOINTMENT AND REAPPOINTMENTS TO THE COMMISSION FOR ARTS AND CULTURE WAIVER OF COUNCIL POLICY 000-13.

RECITALS

The Council of the City of San Diego (Council) adopts this Resolution based on the following:

- A. The Commission for Arts and Culture (Commission) is established in San Diego Municipal Code sections 26.0701 through 26.0728 (Municipal Code) to advise the Mayor and Council on promoting, encouraging, and increasing support for the region's artistic and cultural assets, integrating arts and culture into community life, and showcasing San Diego as an international tourist destination.
- B. The Municipal Code provides that the Commission shall consist of
 15 members appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the Council. Of the 15 members: (1) the
 Mayor shall appoint six members directly; and (2) the Mayor shall appoint the remaining
 nine members, one each from a list of three nominations submitted by each Councilmember.
- C. The Municipal Code provides that members shall serve two-year staggered terms; each member shall serve until a successor is duly appointed and confirmed; and all terms must expire on August 31.
- D. Members shall be persons that represent the following: individual arts and culture patrons, artists, educators, the business and professional community, those with professional qualifications and experience or knowledge of a particular arts and culture field, and the general public.

- E. The Mayor now seeks Council confirmation of a reappointment to the Commission.
- F. The Office of the City Attorney prepared this Resolution based on the information provided by City staff, including information provided by affected third parties and verified by City staff, with the understanding that this information is complete and accurate.

ACTION ITEMS

Be it resolved by the Council of the City of San Diego:

1. The following appointments and reappointments by the Mayor to serve as members of the Commission for Arts and Culture, for terms expiring as indicated below, are made and hereby confirmed:

<u>NAME</u>	CATEGORY	TERM ENDING	
Christopher Chalupsky (Point Loma, District 2) (Filling a vacant seat previously held by Tracy Dezenzo)	District 2 Representative	August 31, 2025	
Dennis Doan (Murietta) (Reappointment)	District 6 Representative	August 31, 2026	
Fritz Friedman (Park West, District 3) (Reappointment)	Mayoral Appointee	August 31, 2026	
Lee Ann Kim (Sorrento Valley, District 6) (Reappointment)	Mayoral Appointee	August 31, 2026.	
Dr. Alberto Lopez Pulido (Bay Park, District 2) (Reappointment)	District 8 Representative	August 31, 2025	

2. The Council waives Council Policy 000-13's requirement that board and commission members reside in the County of San Diego in relation the appointment of Dennis Doan to this Commission. APPROVED: HEATHER FERBERT, City Attorney By Interim Chief Deputy City Attorney KJS:jvg January 2, 2025 Or.Dept: Office of Boards and Commissions Doc. No. 3915172 I certify that the Council of the City of San Diego adopted this Resolution at a meeting held on JAN 28 2025 DIANA J.S. FUENTES City Clerk

TODD GLORIA, Mayor

Vetoed:

(date)

Passed by the Council of The	City of San Diego	o on JA	N 2 8 2025	_, by the following vote:		
Councilmembers	Yeas	Nays	Not Present	Recused		
Joe LaCava	7		П	П		
Jennifer Campbell	7					
Stephen Whitburn				П		
Henry L. Foster III	\square					
Marni von Wilpert	□					
Kent Lee		П				
Raul A. Campillo	<u>/</u> //					
Vivian Moreno	7			П		
Sean Elo-Rivera						
(Please note: When a resolution is approved by the Mayor, the date of final passage is the date the approved resolution was returned to the Office of the City Clerk.)						
AUTHENTICATED BY:		Mayo	TODD GLORIA Mayor of The City of San Diego, California.			
		. · ·	DIÀNA J.S. FL	JENTES		
(Seal)		City Clerk of The City of San Diego, California.				
		ву <u>Ву</u> For	nda Ir.			
	Office of the City Clerk, San Diego, California					
	Resol	ution Numbe	er R316(03		
			•	•		

• . .