Item #610 4/22/25

(R-2025-463)

## RESOLUTION NUMBER R- 316170 DATE OF FINAL PASSAGE MAY 05 2025

## A RESOLUTION OF THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF SAN DIEGO CONFIRMING APPOINTMENTS AND REAPPOINTMENTS TO THE BALBOA PARK COMMITTEE.

## **RECITALS**

The Council of the City of San Diego (Council) adopts this Resolution based on the following:

A. The Balboa Park Committee (Committee) is established in San Diego Municipal Code section 26.30(b) (Municipal Code), to provide advice to the City of San Diego's (City) Parks and Recreation Board, Mayor, and the Council on policy issues relating to the acquisition, development, maintenance, and operation of Balboa Park.

B. The Municipal Code provides that the Committee shall consist of 12 members appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the Council.

C. The Mayor shall appoint one member from among the members of the Parks and Recreation Board who shall be designated as Chair. The Mayor shall appoint one member who shall be designated as Vice-Chair. The Mayor shall appoint three members from a list of at least four nominees provided by the Councilmember representing the majority of the area in Balboa Park.

D. The Mayor shall appoint four members from planning groups officially recognized by the City pursuant to Council Policy 600-24, including one each from the planning groups representing the Uptown, North Park, Golden Hill, and Centre City neighborhoods.

E. The Mayor shall appoint one member from the Balboa Park/Morley Field Community Recreation Group, one member representing a large institution in Balboa Park, and one member representing a small or mid-sized institution in Balboa Park. F. The Municipal Code also provides that members of the Committee shall serve without compensation, for two-year staggered terms, and until a member's successor is duly appointed and qualified. Members of the Committee may be appointed and serve for a maximum of eight consecutive years.

G. The Office of the City Attorney has drafted this Resolution based on the information provided by City staff, including information provided by affected third parties and verified by City staff, with the understanding that this information is complete, true, and accurate.

## ACTION ITEMS

Be it resolved by the Council of the City of San Diego:

1. The following appointments and reappointments by the Mayor of the City of San Diego, to serve as members of the Balboa Park Committee, for the terms expiring as indicated, are made and hereby confirmed:

NAME	CATEGORY	TERM ENDING	
Jake Banfield-Weir (District 3 – Hillcrest) (Appointment replacing Dang Manh Nguyen)	District 3 Representative	March 1, 2027	
David Baron (District 9 – Adams North) (Appointment replacing Molly Chase)	Vice Chair	March 1, 2026	
Mandy Brown (District 3 – North Park) (Appointment replacing Mary McKenzie)	District 3 Representative	March 1, 2027	

(R-2025-463)

NAME	CATEGORY	TERM ENDING	
Dr. Patty Riddle (District 9 – Adams North) (Appointment replacing William Aaron, Jr.)	Balboa Park/Morley Field Recreation Council Representative	March 1, 2026	
Makeda Cheatom (District 3- Balboa Park) (Reappointment)	Small or Mid-Size Institution in Balboa Park	March 1, 2027	
Michael Robinson (District 3 – Mission Valley East) (Reappointment)	District 3 Representative	March 1, 2027	
Allison Soares (District 3- North Park) (Reappointment)	Park and Recreation Board Chair	March 1, 2027	
Tim Shields (San Diego County – El Cajon) (Reappointment)	Large Institution in Balboa Park	March 1, 2027	

2. Pursuant to Council Policy 000-13, for purposes of deliberation and consideration of appointments, it is determined that Tim Shields is a resident of San Diego County, but not the City of San Diego, and has unique qualifications to serve as a member of the Board; therefore, a conscious exception to Council Policy 000-13 is hereby declared.

APPROVED: HEATHER FERBERT, City Attorney

By

Kathy J. Steinman Chief Deputy City Attorney

KJS:jvg March 18, 2025 Or.Dept: Mayor Doc. No. 3996819 I certify that the Council of the City of San Diego adopted this Resolution at a meeting held on APR 2 2 2025 .

> DIANA J.S. FUENTES City Clerk

By Knytell Medina Deputy City Clerk

TODD GLORIA, Mayor

Vetoed:

Approved:

(date)

5/5/25

(date)

TODD GLORIA, Mayor

Passed by the Council of The C	ity of San Die	go on	APR 22 2025	_, by the following vote:
Councilmembers	Yeas	Nays	Not Present	Recused
Joe LaCava	Z ·			
Jennifer Campbell	$\mathbb{Z}$			
Stephen Whitburn	$\square$			
Henry L. Foster III	Ź			
Marni von Wilpert	Z			
Kent Lee	Ź			
Raul A. Campillo	Ź			
Vivian Moreno	Ź			
Sean Elo-Rivera	Z			

MAY 05 2025

Date of final passage \_

(Please note: When a resolution is approved by the Mayor, the date of final passage is the date the approved resolution was returned to the Office of the City Clerk.)

AUTHENTICATED BY:

TODD GLORIA

Mayor of The City of San Diego, California.

(Seal)

DIANA J.S. FUENTES City Clerk of The City of San Diego, California.

Kuptell Jelana, Deputy By\_

Office of the City Clerk, San Diego, California

Resolution Number R- 316170