THE CITY OF SAN DIEGO, CALIFORNIA MINUTES FOR SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING OF

TUESDAY, DECEMBER 7, 1982

AT 8:30 A.M.

IN THE COUNCIL CHAMBERS - 12TH FLOOR

NOTICE OF SPECIAL MEETING OF THE CITY COUNCIL

To Council Members Mitchell, Cleator, Golding, Williams, Struiksma, Gotch, and Murphy, members of the City Council of The City of San Diego, California: A SPECIAL MEETING of the City Council is hereby called to be held in the Council Chambers, 12th floor City Administration Building, 202 C St., San

Diego, California, on December 7, 1982 at the hour of 8:30 a.m.

Said meeting will be held for the purpose of selecting finalists for

appointment to fill the vacancy in Council District 8.

Dated November 22, 1982. PETE WILSON, MAYOR

CHRONOLOGY OF THE MEETING:

The meeting was called to order by Mayor Wilson at 8:51 a.m. Mayor Wilson adjourned the meeting at 9:34 a.m.

ATTENDANCE DURING THE MEETING:

- (M) Mayor Wilson-present.
- (1) Council Member Mitchell-present.
- (2) Council Member Cleator-present.
- (3) Council Member Golding-present.
- (4) Council Member Williams-present.
- (5) Council Member Struiksma-present.
- (6) Council Member Gotch-present.
- (7) Council Member Murphy-present.
- (8) District 8 vacant.

Clerk-Abdelnour (eb)

FILE LOCATION:

MINUTES

ITEM-600: ROLL CALL

Clerk Abdelnour called the roll: Mayor Wilson-present. Council Member Mitchell-present. Council Member Cleator-present. Council Member Golding-present. Council Member Williams-present. Council Member Struiksma-present. Council Member Gotch-present. Council Member Murphy-present. District 8-Vacant.

ITEM-601:

Matter of the Special Council meeting for the purpose of selecting finalists for appointment to fill the vacancy in Council District 8.

FILE LOCATION:

MEET

Testimony was presented by the applicants, Michael J. Aguirre, Richard L. Johnston, Rich Juarez, Donald L. Knox, Martin Kruming, Uvaldo A. Martinez, and Nelson Olivas.

COUNCIL ACTION: (Tape location: A010-725).

MOTION BY MITCHELL TO SELECT FOUR FINALISTS. Second by

Struiksma. Passed by the following vote: Mitchell-yea,

Cleator-yea, Golding-yea, Williams-yea, Struiksma-yea, Gotch-yea,

Murphy-yea, District-8-vacant, Mayor Wilson-yea.

By written ballot the Council Members selected the following four candidates as finalists: Aquirre, Johnston, Juarez, and Martinez.

ADJOURNMENT:

By common consent the meeting was adjourned by Mayor Wilson at 9:34 a.m.

FILE LOCATION: MINUTES

COUNCIL ACTION: (Tape location: A725).