San Diego Municipal Code Chapter 9: Building, Housing and Sign Regulations

(6-2023)

§98.0701

§98.0702

Article 8: Housing

Division 7: Residential Tenant Protections

(“Tenants’ Right to Know Regulations” added 3-30-2004 by O-19269 N.S.)
(Retitled to “Residential Tenant Protections” on 5-25-2023 by 0-21647 N.S.;

effective 6-24-2023.)

Purpose and Intent

The purpose and intent of this Division is to promote stability in the San Diego rental
housing market and limit adverse impacts on displaced tenants forced to find
replacement housing in the expensive and limited San Diego housing market. This
Division protects the rights of tenants by requiring just cause for termination of a
tenancy consistent with California Civil Code section 1946.2, limiting the grounds for
termination of a tenancy, requiring greater tenant relocation assistance in specified
circumstances, and providing additional tenant protections. The rights conferred by
this Division are in addition to any existing rights provided to tenants by state or
federal law.

(“Purpose of Tenants’ Right to Know Regulations” added 3—30-2004 by
0-19269 N.S.)
(Retitled to “Purpose and Intent” and amended 5-25-2023 by 0-21647 N.S.; effective

6-24-2023.)
Definitions

For the purposes of this Division, defined terms appear in italics. The following
definitions apply in this Division:

Buyout agreement means an agreement where the landlord pays the tenant money or
other consideration to vacate the residential rental property. A buyout agreement
does not include an agreement to settle a pending unlawful detainer action.

Buyout offer means any discussion or bargaining, whether oral or written, between a
tenant and a landlord regarding the possibility of entering into a buyout agreement. A
counteroffer by the tenant does not end discussion or bargaining of a buyout offer.

Commission means the San Diego Housing Commission.

Disabled means any person with a disability as defined in California Government
Code section 12955.3, as may be amended.
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Dwelling unit has the same meaning as in San Diego Municipal Code
section 113.0103, as may be amended.

Landlord means any person, acting as principal or through an agent, having the right
to offer residential rental property for rent, and includes a predecessor in interest to
the landlord.

Lease means any lease, sublease, or agreement, written or oral, for the use and
occupancy of residential rental property.

Non-profit transitional housing means temporary housing operated by a non-profit
organization for up to 24 months with supportive services to individuals and families
with the goal of interim stability and support to successfully move to and maintain
permanent housing, which may cover housing costs and accompanying supportive
services for program participants.

Residential rental property means any dwelling or unit that is intended for human
habitation, including any dwelling or unit in a mobilehome park.

Retaliation means any threat or any other adverse action against a tenant for
exercising or attempting to exercise any right guaranteed under this Division.

Section 8 means residential rental property in which the tenant receives tenant-based
housing assistance under Section 8 of the United States Housing Act of 1937, also
known as the Housing Choice Voucher Program.

Senior means any person 62 years old or older.

Tenancy means the lawful right or entitlement of a tenant to continuously use or
occupy a residential rental property for more than 30 days. A tenancy does not
include a lease for a fixed-term of three months or less, including any extensions or
renewals of that lease for a fixed-term of three months or less.

Tenant means a tenant, subtenant, lessee, sublessee, or any other natural person
entitled to lease any residential rental property.

(“When Tenants’ Right to Know Regulations Apply” added 3—30-2004 by
0-19269 N.S.)

(Retitled to “Definitions” and amended 5-25-2023 by O-21647 N.S.; effective
6-24-2023.)
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Exemptions

This Division shall not apply to the following types of residential rental properties or
residential circumstances:

(@)

(b)

(©

(d)

(€)

(f)

(@)

(h)

transient and tourist hotel occupancy as defined in California Civil Code
section 1940(b), as may be amended;

short-term residential occupancy, as defined in and subject to Chapter 5,
Article 10, Division 1 of this Code, as may be amended;

housing restricted by deed, regulatory restriction contained in an agreement
with a government agency, or other document as affordable housing for
persons and families of very low, low, or moderate income, as defined in
California Health and Safety Code section 50093, as may be amended;

housing subject to an agreement that provides housing subsidies for affordable
housing for persons and families of very low, low, or moderate income, as
defined in California Health and Safety Code section 50093, as may be
amended, or comparable federal statutes. This exemption shall not include
Section 8;

mobilehomes subject to the Mobilehome Residency Law (California Civil
Code sections 798-799.11), as may be amended;

housing accommodations in a nonprofit hospital, religious facility, extended
care facility, licensed residential care facility for the elderly, as defined in
California Health and Safety Code section 1569.2, as may be amended, an
adult residential facility, as defined in Title 22, Division 6, Chapter 6 of the
Manual of Policies and Procedures published by the California Department of
Social Services, as may be amended, or non- profit transitional housing;

dormitories owned and operated by an institution of higher education or an
institution offering instruction to any grade from kindergarten through 12;

residential rental property in which the tenant shares bathroom or kitchen
facilities with the landlord who maintains their principal residence at the
residential rental property;

single-family residence occupied by the landlord as the landlord s principal
place of residence, including both of the following:
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1)

)

a residence in which the landlord-occupant rents or leases no more
than two bedrooms, two accessory dwelling units, or two junior
accessory dwelling units, as defined in section 113.0103; and

a mobilehome.

a property containing two separate dwelling units within a single structure in
which the landlord occupies one of the dwelling units as the landlord’s
principal place of residence at the beginning of the tenancy, so long as the
landlord continues in occupancy;

housing that has been issued a certificate of occupancy within the previous
15 years, unless the housing is a mobilehome; and

residential rental property, including a mobilehome, that is alienable separate
from the title to any other dwelling unit, provided that both of the following

apply:
1)

()

The landlord is not any of the following:

(A)

(B)
(©)

(D)

a real estate investment trust, as defined in California Internal
Revenue Code section 856, as may be amended:;

a corporation;

a limited liability company in which at least one member is a
corporation; or

management of a mobilehome park, as defined in California
Civil Code section 798.2, as may be amended.

The tenants have been provided written notice that the residential
rental property is exempt from this Division using the following
statement:

This property is not subject to the just cause requirements of
Chapter 9, Article 8, Division 7 of the San Diego Municipal
Code. This property meets the requirements of San Diego
Municipal Code section 98.0703(l) and the landlord is not any
of the following: (1) a real estate investment trust, as defined
by California Internal Revenue Code section 856; (2) a
corporation; (3) a limited liability company in which at least
one member is a corporation; or (4) management of a
mobilehome park, as defined in California Civil Code

section 798.2.
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For a tenancy existing before January 1, 2024, the notice required
above may be provided in the lease. For a tenancy commenced or
renewed on or after January 1, 2024, the notice required above shall be
provided in the lease.

(“Exemptions” added 5-25-2023 by O-21647 N.S.; effective 6-24-2023.)

Just Cause Required for Termination of Tenancy

A landlord shall not terminate a tenancy without just cause. For purposes of this
Division, just cause includes at-fault just cause and no-fault just cause.

@) At-Fault Just Cause. At-fault just cause is any of the following:

1)
(2)

(3)

(4)

(5)

(6)

(")

a default in the payment of rent;

a breach of a material term of the lease, as described in California
Code of Civil Procedure section 1161(3), as may be amended,
including violation of a provision of the lease after being issued a
written notice to correct the violation;

the maintaining, committing, or permitting the maintenance or
commission of a nuisance as described in California Code of Civil
Procedure section 1161(4), as may be amended;

the committing of waste as described in California Code of Civil
Procedure section 1161(4), as may be amended;

where the tenant has a written lease that terminated on or after

June 24, 2023 and after receiving a written request or demand from the
landlord, the tenant refused to execute a written extension or renewal
of the lease for a substantially similar duration and with substantially
similar provisions, provided the terms of the extension or renewal do
not violate this Division or any other provision of law;

criminal activity by the tenant on the residential rental property,
including any common areas associated with the residential rental
property;

a criminal threat, as defined in California Penal Code section 422(a),
as may be amended, by the tenant regardless of where made directed
at the tenant’s landlord or any other tenant of the residential rental
property;

Ch. Art. Div.

(o8 ]7 NEM



San Diego Municipal Code

Chapter 9: Building, Housing and Sign Regulations

(6-2023)

Ch. Art. Div.

(o877 HCH

(b)

(8)

9)

(10)

(11)

(12)

the tenant’s assignment or sublet of the residential rental property in
violation of the tenant’s lease, as described in California Code of Civil
Procedure section 1161(4), as may be amended;

the tenant’s refusal to allow the landlord to enter the residential rental
property as authorized by California Civil Code sections 1101.5 and
1954, as may be amended, and California Health and Safety Code
sections 13113.7 and 17926.1, as may be amended;

the tenant’s use of the residential rental property for an unlawful
purpose as described in California Code of Civil Procedure
section 1161(4), as may be amended,;

where the tenant is an employee, agent, or licensee of the landlord and
the tenant fails to vacate the residential rental property after their
termination as an employee, agent, or licensee as described in
California Code of Civil Procedure section 1161(1), as may be
amended; and

when the tenant fails to deliver possession of the residential rental
property after providing the landlord written notice as provided in
California Civil Code section 1946, as may be amended, of the
tenant’s intention to terminate the tenancy, or the tenant makes a
written offer to surrender the residential rental property that is
accepted in writing by the landlord, but fails to deliver possession at
the time specified in that written notice as described in California
Code of Civil Procedure section 1161(5), as may be amended.

No-Fault Just Cause. No-fault just cause is any of the following actions
taken by the landlord in good faith, meaning the landlord acts without ulterior
motives and with honest intent:

(1)

The landlord seeks to recover possession to occupy the residential
rental property for the landlord or their spouse, domestic partner,
child (by blood or adoption), grandchild (by blood or adoption),
parent, or grandparent.

(A)  For leases entered into on or after June 24, 2023,
section 98.0704(b)(1) shall apply only if the tenant agrees to
the termination in writing or if the lease expressly allows the
landlord to terminate the lease if the landlord unilaterally
decides to occupy the residential rental property for the
landlord or their spouse, domestic partner, child (by blood or
adoption), grandchild (by blood or adoption), parent, or
grandparent.
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©)

(4)

(B)  For tenancies in effect prior to June 24, 2023, the addition of a
provision allowing the landlord to terminate the lease as
described in section 98.0704(b)(1) to a new lease, renewed
lease, or fixed-term lease constitutes a substantially similar
provision for the purposes of section 98.0704(a)(5).

The landlord seeks to recover possession to withdraw the residential
rental property from the rental market.

The landlord seeks to recover possession to comply with any of the
following:

(A) anorder issued by a government agency or court relating to
habitability that requires vacating the residential rental
property for at least 30 days. An order issued by a government
agency or court relating to habitability that requires vacating
the residential rental property for fewer than 30 days is not
grounds to terminate a tenancy for just cause and a landlord
may be required by applicable state or federal law to provide
tenant relocation benefits;

(B)  anorder issued by a government agency or court to vacate the
residential rental property; or

(C) alocal ordinance that requires vacating the residential rental
property.

If any government agency or court determines that the tenant is at fault
for the condition or conditions triggering the order or need to vacate
under section 98.0704(b)(3), the tenant shall not be entitled to any
relocation assistance provided in section 98.0706(c).

The landlord seeks to recover possession to demolish or to
substantially remodel the residential rental property, provided the
landlord does all the following:

(A)  posts at the residential rental property the application for the
necessary permits within three business days of submittal of
the application;

(B)  secures permits necessary for the demolition or substantial
remodel; and
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(C)  serves a copy of the necessary permits with a written
termination notice, certified under penalty of perjury, stating
the reason for termination, the type and scope of the work to be
performed, why the work cannot be reasonably accomplished
in a safe manner with the tenant in place, and why the work
requires the tenant to vacate the residential rental property for
at least 30 days.

For purposes of section 98.0704(b)(4), substantially remodel means the replacement
or substantial modification of any structural, electrical, plumbing, or mechanical
system that requires a permit from a governmental agency, or the abatement of
hazardous materials, including lead-based paint, mold, or asbestos, in accordance
with applicable federal, state, and local laws, that cannot be reasonably accomplished
in a safe manner with the tenant in place and that requires the tenant to vacate the
residential rental property for at least 30 days. Substantially remodel does not
include cosmetic improvements alone, including painting, decorating, and minor
repairs, or other work that can be performed safely without having the residential
rental property vacated.

(“Just Cause Required for Termination of Tenancy ” added 5-25-2023 by
0-21647 N.S.; effective 6-24-2023.)

898.0705 Notice to Tenant of Residential Tenant Protections

@ A landlord of residential rental property subject to this Division shall provide
written notice in no less than 12-point font to the tenant, and in a manner that
complies with California Civil Code section 1632, as may be amended, that
states as follows:

California law limits the amount your rent can be increased. See
California Civil Code section 1947.12 for more information. Local law
also provides that a landlord shall provide a statement of cause in any
notice to terminate a tenancy. In some circumstances, tenants who are
seniors (62 years or older) or disabled may be entitled to additional
tenant protections. See Chapter 9, Article 8, Division 7 of the San
Diego Municipal Code for more information.

(b) A landlord of residential rental property subject to this Division shall include
a copy of the Tenant Protection Guide with the written notice required by
section 98.0705(a).
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(©)

(d)

The Commission shall prepare and make available on the Commission’s
website a Tenant Protection Guide, which shall include educational
information and resources for the tenant to understand their rights under this
Division and state law, including the rights to quiet enjoyment and habitability
of the residential rental property.

For a tenancy in a residential rental property subject to this Division existing
before June 24, 2023, the notice required by section 98.0705(a) and the
Tenant Protection Guide required by section 98.0705(b) shall be provided to
the tenant directly or as an addendum to the lease within 90 days of June 24,
2023.

For a tenancy in a residential rental property subject to this Division
commencing or renewed on or after June 24, 2023, the notice required by
section 98.0705(a) and the Tenant Protection Guide required by

section 98.0705(b) shall be included in the lease, or as a written notice signed
by the tenant at the time the lease is signed, with a copy provided to the
tenant.

(“Notice to Tenant of Residential Tenant Protections ” added 5-25-2023 by
0-21647 N.S.; effective 6-24-2023.)

Requirements Upon Termination of Tenancy

(@)

Requirements Upon Termination of Tenancy for At-Fault Just Cause. If a
landlord issues a termination notice for at-fault just cause, the landlord shall
do the following:

1) Notice to Tenant. Before a landlord issues a notice to terminate a
tenancy for at-fault just cause that is a curable lease violation, the
landlord shall first give written notice of the violation including a
description of the violation and an opportunity to cure the violation
under California Code of Civil Procedure section 1161(3), as may be
amended. If the violation is not cured within the time period in the
notice, the landlord may terminate the tenancy without another
opportunity to cure by serving a three-day notice to quit.

(2 Notice to Commission. The landlord shall provide written notice to the
Commission of the at-fault just cause termination of tenancy under
section 98.0704(a) no later than three business days after the date the
landlord provided the required notice to tenant. Section 98.0706(a)(2)
shall not apply until 30 days after the Commission establishes a
submission portal and provides the public notice of its creation.
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(b)

Requirements Upon Termination of Tenancy for No-Fault Just Cause. If a
landlord issues a termination notice for no-fault just cause, the landlord shall
do the following:

1)

Notice to Tenant. The landlord shall give written notice to the tenant
at least 30 or 60 days prior to the proposed date of termination as
required by California Civil Code section 1946.1, as may be amended,
in no less than 12-point font. The written notice shall contain the

The landlord shall provide a description of the basis for the
termination.

The notice shall state the zenant’s right to relocation assistance
established in section 98.0706(c) by a direct payment to the
tenant or rent waiver.

following:
(A)
(B)
(i)
(ii)
©

If the landlord elects to provide relocation assistance by
a direct payment to the tenant, the notice shall state the
amount of relocation assistance available to the tenant
and that the landlord shall provide the payment within
15 days from the date of the notice.

If the landlord elects to provide relocation assistance by
rent waiver, the notice shall state the amount of rent
waived and that no rent is due for the final
corresponding months of the tenancy.

The notice shall state the tenant’s right to receive an offer to
renew the tenancy established in section 98.0706(d) and

30 days to accept the offer in the event the residential rental
property is offered again for rent or lease for residential
purposes within five years of the date the tenant was evicted
under sections 98.0704(b)(1), (3), or (4), and that to exercise
such right, the tenant:

(i)

(i)

shall notify the landlord in writing within 30 days of
the termination notice of tenant’s desire to receive an
offer to renew the tenancy;

provide the landlord a mailing address or email address
for the landlord to send the offer; and



San Diego Municipal Code

Chapter 9: Building, Housing and Sign Regulations

(6-2023)

()

(iii)  provide the landlord a change of mailing address or
email address.

Notice to Commission. The landlord shall provide written notice to the
Commission of the no-fault just cause termination of tenancy under
section 98.0704(b) no later than three business days after the date the
landlord provided the required notice to tenant. Section 98.0706(b)(2)
shall not apply until 30 days after the Commission establishes a
submission portal and provides the public notice of its creation.

(© Relocation Assistance for Termination of Tenancy for No-Fault Just Cause.

1)

()

©)

The landlord shall, regardless of the tenant’s income or length of
tenancy and at the /landlord’s option, provide relocation assistance to
the tenant by one of the following:

(A)  The landlord shall provide a direct payment to the tenant.

Q) Unless section 98.0706(c)(1)(A)(ii) applies, the direct
payment to the tenant shall be in an amount equal to
two months of actual rent under the tenant’s lease in
effect at the date of the notice.

(i) If the tenant is a senior or disabled, the direct payment
to the tenant shall be in an amount equal to three
months of actual rent under the tenant’s lease in effect
at the date of the notice.

(B)  The landlord shall waive, and not collect the payment by
tenant, of any currently due or future rent under the tenant’s
lease at the time of the notice and through the remainder of the
tenancy in an amount equal to the applicable direct payment as
set forth in section 98.0706(c)(1)(A).

When more than one tenant occupies the residential rental property
and the landlord elects to provide direct payment of relocation
assistance to the tenants, the landlord may make a single direct
payment to all the tenants named in the lease.

The relocation assistance required by this Division shall not relieve the
landlord’s obligation to, and shall be in addition to, the return of any
deposit or security amounts owed to the tenant.
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(d)

(€)

4) Any relocation assistance required by this Division shall be credited
against any other relocation assistance required by any federal, state,
or other local law.

5) If a tenant fails to vacate after the expiration of the notice to terminate
the tenancy, the actual amount of any relocation assistance provided
under this Division may be recoverable by landlord as damages in an
action to recover possession of the residential rental property.

Additional Requirement Upon Termination of a Tenancy for No-Fault Just
Cause.

If a residential rental property is offered for rent or lease for residential
purposes within five years of the date the tenant was evicted under

sections 98.0704(b)(1), (3), or (4), landlord shall first offer to lease the
residential rental property in writing to the tenant displaced from that unit by
the no-fault just cause termination if the tenant:

1) advised the landlord in writing within 30 days of the termination
notice of the fenant’s desire to receive an offer to renew the tenancy;
and

(2 provided the landlord a mailing address or email address for the
landlord to send the offer, including any change of mailing address or
email address.

The landlord shall have the right to screen the tenant using industry accepted
methods and shall communicate the minimum screening criteria in the written
offer for the new tenancy. The tenant shall have 30 days from the date of
receipt of the offer to accept.

In addition to other remedies applicable to landlord’s failure to comply with
this Division, a landlord's failure to strictly comply with section 98.0706 shall
render void any notice of termination required by section 98.0706.

(“Requirements Upon Termination of Tenancy ” added 5-25-2023 by O-21647 N.S.;
effective 6-24-2023.)
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Buyout Agreements

It is the purpose and intent of section 98.0707 to regulate buyout agreements to
increase the fairness of buyout negotiations and agreements, to ensure that tenants
who enter into buyout agreements are aware of their rights, and to prevent landlords
from contracting around the legal rights and remedies available to tenants under
existing law.

@ Disclosure Prior to Buyout Offers. Prior to making a buyout offer, the landlord
shall provide each tenant in a residential rental property a written disclosure
that shall include the following:

1) a statement that the tenant has a right not to enter into a buyout
agreement;

(2) a statement that the tenant may choose to consult with an attorney
before entering into a buyout agreement;

3) a statement that the landlord may not retaliate against the tenant for
refusing to enter into or negotiate a buyout agreement;

4) a statement that all tenants of a residential rental property may refuse
to receive future buyout offers by providing landlord written notice of
their refusal, which shall be effective for six months, and all tenants of
a residential rental property may rescind the refusal to receive future
buyout offers by providing landlord written notice of the rescission;

(5) a statement that the tenant is eligible for relocation assistance and the
amount of the required relocation assistance in section 98.0706(c);

(6) the names of all people authorized to discuss the buyout offer and enter
into a buyout agreement on the landlord’s behalf;

@) a space for each tenant to sign and write the date the landlord
provided the tenant with the disclosure; and

(8) a space for the landlord to sign and write the date on which the
landlord provided the tenant with the disclosure.

(b) The landlord shall provide each tenant a fully executed copy of the disclosure
form within three days of its execution and retain a copy of each signed
disclosure form for five years, along with a record of the date the landlord
provided the disclosure to each tenant.
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()  Requirements for Buyout Agreements. The landlord shall comply with the
following:

1) The buyout agreement shall be in writing.

2 A copy of the buyout agreement shall be given to each tenant at the
time the tenant signs the buyout agreement.

(€)) The buyout agreement shall include the following statements in bold
letters in at least 14-point font in close proximity to the space reserved
for the signature of the tenant:

(A)  You, the tenant, have a right not to enter into this buyout
agreement.

(B)  Ifyou, the tenant, are entitled to relocation assistance under
federal, state, or local law, a buyout agreement for less than the
amount of the relocation assistance to which you are entitled
violates Chapter 9, Article 8, Division 7 of the San Diego
Municipal Code and is void.

(C)  You, the tenant, may choose to consult with an attorney before
signing this agreement.

4) If the tenant primarily negotiates the buyout agreement or lease, orally
or in writing, in a non-English language, the landlord shall provide the
tenant with an English and a translated version of the buyout
agreement at the same time.

A buyout agreement that does not strictly comply with all the requirements of
section 98.0707(c)(1)-(4) shall be void.

(d) Void Buyout Agreements. Buyout agreements must be for an amount that is
greater than the amount of relocation assistance available to the tenant in
section 98.0706(c). A buyout agreement for less than the amount of relocation
assistance owed to the tenant violates this Division and is void.

(e No Waiver. The provisions of section 98.0707 may not be waived by a buyout
agreement. Any term of a buyout agreement, lease, contract, or other
agreement which purports to waive or limit a tenant's rights under
section 98.0707 is contrary to public policy, unenforceable, and void.

(“Buyout Agreements ” added 5-25-2023 by 0-21647 N.S.; effective 6-24-2023.)
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§98.0708 Retaliation Prohibited

A landlord shall not retaliate against a tenant for exercising any right provided by
this Division or seeking the enforcement of this Division.

(“Retaliation Prohibited ” added 5-25-2023 by O-21647 N.S.; effective 6-24-2023.)
§98.0709 Remedies

@) A tenant claiming a violation of this Division may file an action against a
landlord in a court of competent jurisdiction.

(b) A tenant may seek injunctive relief, equitable relief, and money damages,
including punitive damages, in a civil action against a landlord for a violation
of this Division.

(© A tenant may raise, as an affirmative defense, any violation or noncompliance
with this Division in any action by a landlord to recover possession of a
residential rental property.

(d) Any attempt by a landlord to recover possession of a residential rental
property or any actual recovery of possession of a residential rental property
in violation of this Division shall render the landlord liable to the tenant in a
civil action for wrongful eviction for damages of not less than three times the
actual economic damages.

(e Any landlord who fails to provide relocation assistance as required by
section 98.0706(c) shall be liable to the tenant in a civil action for not less
than three times the required relocation assistance and actual economic
damages.

U] In an action between landlord and tenant brought under this Division that is
not an unlawful detainer action, the prevailing party shall recover costs and
reasonable attorney fees.

(9) The remedies under section 98.0709 are cumulative and may be used in
addition to any other remedies in this Division or at law, statute, or ordinance.

(h) The City may enforce this Division under Chapter 1, Article 2 of this Code,
including civil and criminal remedies.

(“Remedies” added 5-25-2023 by O-21647 N.S.; effective 6-24-2023.)
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