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Article 8:  Housing 

 

Division 7:  Residential Tenant Protections 

(“Tenants’ Right to Know Regulations” added 3–30–2004 by O–19269 N.S.) 

(Retitled to “Residential Tenant Protections” on 5-25-2023 by O-21647 N.S.;  

effective 6-24-2023.) 

 

§98.0701 Purpose and Intent 

The purpose and intent of this Division is to promote stability in the San Diego rental 

housing market and limit adverse impacts on displaced tenants forced to find 

replacement housing in the expensive and limited San Diego housing market. This 

Division protects the rights of tenants by requiring just cause for termination of a 

tenancy consistent with California Civil Code section 1946.2, limiting the grounds for 

termination of a tenancy, requiring greater tenant relocation assistance in specified 

circumstances, and providing additional tenant protections. The rights conferred by 

this Division are in addition to any existing rights provided to tenants by state or 

federal law.  

(“Purpose of Tenants’ Right to Know Regulations” added 3–30–2004 by 

O-19269 N.S.) 

(Retitled to “Purpose and Intent” and amended 5-25-2023 by O-21647 N.S.; effective 

6-24-2023.) 

 

§98.0702 Definitions 

For the purposes of this Division, defined terms appear in italics. The following 

definitions apply in this Division: 

Buyout agreement means an agreement where the landlord pays the tenant money or 

other consideration to vacate the residential rental property. A buyout agreement 

does not include an agreement to settle a pending unlawful detainer action. 

 

Buyout offer means any discussion or bargaining, whether oral or written, between a 

tenant and a landlord regarding the possibility of entering into a buyout agreement. A 

counteroffer by the tenant does not end discussion or bargaining of a buyout offer. 

 

Commission means the San Diego Housing Commission. 

 

Disabled means any person with a disability as defined in California Government 

Code section 12955.3, as may be amended.  
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Dwelling unit has the same meaning as in San Diego Municipal Code 

section 113.0103, as may be amended.  

 

Family trust means a revocable living trust or irrevocable trust in which the settlors 

and beneficiaries of the trust are persons who are related to each other as sibling, 

spouse, domestic partner, child (by blood or adoption), parent, grandparent, or 

grandchild (by blood or adoption). 

 

Landlord means an owner and any person, acting as principal or through an agent, 

who has the right to offer residential rental property for rent, and includes a 

predecessor in interest to the landlord. 

 

Lease means any lease, sublease, or agreement, written or oral, for the use and 

occupancy of residential rental property. 

Natural person includes a natural person who is a settlor or beneficiary of a family 

trust; or if the residential rental property is owned by a limited liability company or 

partnership, a natural person with a 25 percent ownership in the residential rental 

property. 

Non-profit transitional housing means temporary housing operated by a non-profit 

organization for up to 24 months with supportive services to individuals and families 

with the goal of interim stability and support to successfully move to and maintain 

permanent housing, which may cover housing costs and accompanying supportive 

services for program participants. 

Owner means a natural person that has at least a 25 percent recorded ownership 

interest in the residential rental property; a natural person who has any recorded 

ownership interest in the residential rental property if 100 percent of the recorded 

ownership is divided among owners who are related to each other as sibling, spouse, 

domestic partner, child (by blood or adoption), parent, grandparent, or grandchild (by 

blood or adoption); or a natural person whose recorded interest in the residential 

rental property is owned through a limited liability company or partnership. 

Residential rental property means any dwelling or unit that is intended for human 

habitation, including any dwelling or unit in a mobilehome park. 

Retaliation means any threat or any other adverse action against a tenant for 

exercising or attempting to exercise any right guaranteed under this Division. 
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Section 8 means residential rental property in which the tenant receives tenant-based 

housing assistance under Section 8 of the United States Housing Act of 1937, also 

known as the Housing Choice Voucher Program.  
 

Senior means any person 62 years old or older. 

Tenancy means the lawful right or entitlement of a tenant to continuously use or 

occupy a residential rental property for more than 30 days. A tenancy does not 

include a lease for a fixed-term of three months or less, including any extensions or 

renewals of that lease for a fixed-term of three months or less. 

Tenant means a tenant, subtenant, lessee, sublessee, or any other natural person 

entitled to lease any residential rental property. 

(“When Tenants’ Right to Know Regulations Apply” added 3–30–2004 by 

O-19269 N.S.) 

(Retitled to “Definitions” and amended 5-25-2023 by O-21647 N.S.; effective 

6-24-2023.) 

(Amended 2-27-2024 by O-21769 N.S.; effective 3-28-2024.) 

 

§98.0703 Exemptions 

This Division shall not apply to the following types of residential rental properties or 

residential circumstances: 

(a) transient and tourist hotel occupancy as defined in California Civil Code 

section 1940(b), as may be amended; 

(b) short-term residential occupancy, as defined in and subject to Chapter 5, 

Article 10, Division 1 of this Code, as may be amended;  

 

(c) housing restricted by deed, regulatory restriction contained in an agreement 

with a government agency, or other document as affordable housing for 

persons and families of very low, low, or moderate income, as defined in 

California Health and Safety Code section 50093, as may be amended;  

(d)  housing subject to an agreement that provides housing subsidies for affordable 

housing for persons and families of very low, low, or moderate income, as 

defined in California Health and Safety Code section 50093, as may be 

amended, or comparable federal statutes. This exemption shall not include 

Section 8;  
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(e) mobilehomes subject to the Mobilehome Residency Law (California Civil 

Code sections 798-799.11), as may be amended;  

 

(f) housing accommodations in a nonprofit hospital, religious facility, extended 

care facility, licensed residential care facility for the elderly, as defined in 

California Health and Safety Code section 1569.2, as may be amended, an 

adult residential facility, as defined in Title 22, Division 6, Chapter 6 of the 

Manual of Policies and Procedures published by the California Department of 

Social Services, as may be amended, or non- profit transitional housing; 

(g) dormitories owned and operated by an institution of higher education or an 

institution offering instruction to any grade from kindergarten through 12; 

(h) residential rental property in which the tenant shares bathroom or kitchen 

facilities with the landlord who maintains their principal residence at the 

residential rental property;  

 

(i) single-family residence occupied by the landlord as the landlord’s principal 

place of residence, including both of the following:  

 

(1) a residence in which the landlord-occupant rents or leases no more 

than two bedrooms, two accessory dwelling units, or two junior 

accessory dwelling units, as defined in section 113.0103; and  

 

(2) a mobilehome. 

(j) a property containing two separate dwelling units within a single structure in 

which the landlord occupies one of the dwelling units as the landlord’s 

principal place of residence at the beginning of the tenancy, so long as the 

landlord continues in occupancy;  

 

(k) housing that has been issued a certificate of occupancy within the previous 

15 years, unless the housing is a mobilehome; and 

(l) residential rental property, including a mobilehome, that is alienable separate 

from the title to any other dwelling unit, provided that both of the following 

apply: 

(1) The landlord is not any of the following: 

(A) a real estate investment trust, as defined in California Internal 

Revenue Code section 856, as may be amended; 
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(B) a corporation; 

(C) a limited liability company in which at least one member is a 

corporation; or  

 

(D) management of a mobilehome park, as defined in California 

Civil Code section 798.2, as may be amended. 

(2) The tenants have been provided written notice that the residential 

rental property is exempt from this Division using the following 

statement: 

This property is not subject to the just cause requirements of 

Chapter 9, Article 8, Division 7 of the San Diego Municipal 

Code. This property meets the requirements of San Diego 

Municipal Code section 98.0703(l) and the landlord is not any 

of the following: (1) a real estate investment trust, as defined 

by California Internal Revenue Code section 856; (2) a 

corporation; (3) a limited liability company in which at least 

one member is a corporation; or (4) management of a 

mobilehome park, as defined in California Civil Code 

section 798.2.  

 

For a tenancy existing before January 1, 2024, the notice required 

above may be provided in the lease. For a tenancy commenced or 

renewed on or after January 1, 2024, the notice required above shall be 

provided in the lease. 

(“Exemptions” added 5-25-2023 by O-21647 N.S.; effective 6-24-2023.) 

 

§98.0704 Just Cause Required for Termination of Tenancy 

A landlord shall not terminate a tenancy without just cause. For purposes of this 

Division, just cause includes at-fault just cause and no-fault just cause. 

(a) At-Fault Just Cause. At-fault just cause is any of the following: 

(1) a default in the payment of rent; 

(2) a breach of a material term of the lease, as described in California 

Code of Civil Procedure section 1161(3), as may be amended, 

including violation of a provision of the lease after being issued a 

written notice to correct the violation; 
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(3) the maintaining, committing, or permitting the maintenance or 

commission of a nuisance as described in California Code of Civil 

Procedure section 1161(4), as may be amended;  

 

(4) the committing of waste as described in California Code of Civil 

Procedure section 1161(4), as may be amended; 

(5) where the tenant has a written lease that terminated on or after 

June 24, 2023 and after receiving a written request or demand from the 

landlord, the tenant refused to execute a written extension or renewal 

of the lease for a substantially similar duration and with substantially 

similar provisions, provided the terms of the extension or renewal do 

not violate this Division or any other provision of law; 

(6) criminal activity by the tenant on the residential rental property, 

including any common areas associated with the residential rental 

property; 

(7) a criminal threat, as defined in California Penal Code section 422(a), 

as may be amended, by the tenant regardless of where made directed 

at the tenant’s landlord or any other tenant of the residential rental 

property;  

 

(8) the tenant’s assignment or sublet of the residential rental property in 

violation of the tenant’s lease, as described in California Code of Civil 

Procedure section 1161(4), as may be amended;  

 

(9) the tenant’s refusal to allow the landlord to enter the residential rental 

property as authorized by California Civil Code sections 1101.5 and 

1954, as may be amended, and California Health and Safety Code 

sections 13113.7 and 17926.1, as may be amended; 

(10) the tenant’s use of the residential rental property for an unlawful 

purpose as described in California Code of Civil Procedure 

section 1161(4), as may be amended; 

(11) where the tenant is an employee, agent, or licensee of the landlord and 

the tenant fails to vacate the residential rental property after their 

termination as an employee, agent, or licensee as described in 

California Code of Civil Procedure section 1161(1), as may be 

amended; and  
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(12) when the tenant fails to deliver possession of the residential rental 

property after providing the landlord written notice as provided in 

California Civil Code section 1946, as may be amended, of the 

tenant’s intention to terminate the tenancy, or the tenant makes a 

written offer to surrender the residential rental property that is 

accepted in writing by the landlord, but fails to deliver possession at 

the time specified in that written notice as described in California 

Code of Civil Procedure section 1161(5), as may be amended. 

(b) No-Fault Just Cause. No-fault just cause is any of the following actions 

taken by the landlord in good faith, meaning the landlord acts without ulterior 

motives and with honest intent: 

(1) The owner seeks to recover possession to occupy the residential rental 

property for the owner or their spouse, domestic partner, child (by 

blood or adoption), grandchild (by blood or adoption), parent, or 

grandparent for a minimum of 12 continuous months as that person’s 

primary residence. 

(A) For leases entered into on or after June 24, 2023, section 

98.0704(b)(1) shall apply only if the tenant agrees to the 

termination in writing or if the lease expressly allows the 

owner to terminate the lease if the owner unilaterally decides 

to occupy the residential rental property for the owner or their 

spouse, domestic partner, child (by blood or adoption), 

grandchild (by blood or adoption), parent, or grandparent. 

(B) For tenancies in effect prior to June 24, 2023, the addition of a 

provision allowing the owner to terminate the lease as 

described in section 98.0704(b)(1) to a new lease, renewed 

lease, or fixed-term lease constitutes a substantially similar 

provision for the purposes of section 98.0704(a)(5). 

(C) Section 98.0704(b)(1) does not apply if the intended occupant 

occupies a rental unit on the property or if a vacancy of a 

similar unit already exists at the property.  
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(D) The written notice terminating a tenancy for just cause under 

section 98.0704(b)(1) shall contain the name or names and 

relationship to the owner of the intended occupant. In addition, 

the written notice shall include notification that the tenant may 

request proof that the intended occupant is the owner or related 

to the owner. The owner shall provide tenant the proof upon 

request, which may include an operating agreement and other 

non-public documents.  

(E) Section 98.0704(b)(1) applies only if the intended occupant 

moves into the residential rental property within 90 days after 

the tenant vacates and occupies the residential rental property 

for at least 12 continuous months. 

(F) If the intended occupant does not occupy the residential rental 

property within 90 days after the tenant vacates or does not 

occupy the residential rental property for at least 12 

continuous months, the owner shall offer the residential rental 

property to the tenant who vacated it at the same rent and lease 

terms in effect at the time the tenant vacated and shall 

reimburse the tenant for reasonable moving expenses incurred 

in excess of any relocation assistance that was paid to the 

tenant in connection with the written notice terminating the 

tenancy. 

(G) If the intended occupant moves into the residential rental 

property within 90 days after the tenant vacates, but dies 

before having occupied the residential rental property as a 

primary residence for 12 continuous months, this will not be 

considered a failure to comply with section 98.0704(b)(1) or a 

violation of section 98.0704(b)(1) by the owner. 

(H) For a new tenancy commenced during the time periods in 

section 98.0704(b)(1)(E), the residential rental property shall 

be offered and rented or leased at the lawful rent in effect at the 

time any written notice of terminating a tenancy is served.  

(I) For purposes of section 98.0704(b)(1), intended occupant 

means the owner or their spouse, domestic partner, child (by 

blood or adoption), grandchild (by blood or adoption), parent, 

or grandparent. 
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(2) The landlord seeks to recover possession to withdraw the residential 

rental property from the rental market. 

(3) The landlord seeks to recover possession to comply with any of the 

following:  

(A) an order issued by a government agency or court relating to 

habitability that requires vacating the residential rental 

property for at least 30 days. An order issued by a government 

agency or court relating to habitability that requires vacating 

the residential rental property for fewer than 30 days is not 

grounds to terminate a tenancy for just cause and a landlord 

may be required by applicable state or federal law to provide 

tenant relocation benefits; 

(B) an order issued by a government agency or court to vacate the 

residential rental property; or  

(C) a local ordinance that requires vacating the residential rental 

property.  

If any government agency or court determines that the tenant is at fault 

for the condition or conditions triggering the order or need to vacate 

under section 98.0704(b)(3), the tenant shall not be entitled to any 

relocation assistance provided in section 98.0706(c). 

(4) The landlord seeks to recover possession to demolish or to 

substantially remodel the residential rental property. 

(A) For purposes of section 98.0704(b)(4), substantially remodel 

means either of the following that cannot be reasonably 

accomplished in a safe manner with the tenant in place and that 

requires the tenant to vacate the residential rental property for 

at least 30 continuous days:  

 

(i) the replacement or substantial modification of any 

structural, electrical, plumbing, or mechanical system 

that requires a permit from a governmental agency; or  

(ii) the abatement of hazardous materials, including lead-

based paint, mold, or asbestos, in accordance with 

applicable federal, state, and local laws.  
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(B) For purposes of section 98.0704(b)(4), a tenant is not required 

to vacate the residential rental property on any days where a 

tenant could continue living in the residential rental property 

without violating federal, state, or local laws regarding health, 

safety, and habitability. Cosmetic improvements alone, 

including painting, decorating, and minor repairs, or other 

work that can be performed safely without having the 

residential rental property vacated, do not qualify as 

substantial remodel. 

(C) If permits are required for the demolition or substantial 

remodel of the residential rental property, landlord shall:  

(i) post at the residential rental property a copy of the 

application for the necessary permits within three 

business days of submittal of the application; and  

(ii) secure permits necessary for the demolition or 

substantial remodel of the residential rental property 

prior to issuing the written notice required in section 

98.0704(b)(4)(D). 

(D) A written notice terminating a tenancy for just cause under 

section 98.0704(b)(4) shall include all the following, certified 

under penalty of perjury: 

(i) A statement informing the tenant of the landlord’s 

intent to demolish or substantially remodel the 

residential rental property. 

(ii) The following statement: 

If the substantial remodel of your unit or demolition of 

the property as described in this notice of termination is 

not commenced or completed, the landlord must offer 

you the opportunity to re-rent your unit with a rental 

agreement containing the same terms as your most 

recent rental agreement with the landlord at the rental 

rate that was in effect at the time you vacated. You 

must notify the landlord within thirty (30) days of 

receipt of the offer to re-rent of your acceptance or 

rejection of the offer, and, if accepted, you must 

reoccupy the unit within thirty (30) days of notifying 

the landlord of your acceptance of the offer. 
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(iii) A description of the substantial remodel to be 

completed with the approximate expected duration of 

the substantial remodel or, if the residential rental 

property is to be demolished, the expected date by 

which the residential rental property will be 

demolished, together with the following: 

(I) a copy of the permits necessary for the 

demolition or substantial remodel; or 

(II) only if a notice is issued under section 

98.0704(b)(4)(A)(ii) and the substantial remodel 

does not require any permit, a copy of the 

signed contract with the contractor hired by the 

landlord to complete the substantial remodel 

that reasonably details the work that will be 

undertaken to abate the hazardous materials as 

described in section 98.0704(b)(4)(A)(ii).  

(iv) A statement stating why the work cannot be reasonably 

accomplished in a safe manner with the tenant in place 

and requires the tenant to vacate the residential rental 

property for at least 30 continuous days. 

(v) A notification to tenant in compliance with section 

98.0706(b)(1)(C). 

(“Just Cause Required for Termination of Tenancy” added 5-25-2023 by 

O-21647 N.S.; effective 6-24-2023.) 

(Amended 2-27-2024 by O-21769 N.S.; effective 3-28-2024.) 
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§98.0705 Notice to Tenant of Residential Tenant Protections 

(a) A landlord of residential rental property subject to this Division shall provide 

written notice in no less than 12-point font to the tenant, and in a manner that 

complies with California Civil Code section 1632, as may be amended, that 

states as follows: 

California law limits the amount your rent can be increased. See 

California Civil Code section 1947.12 for more information. Local law 

also provides that a landlord shall provide a statement of cause in any 

notice to terminate a tenancy. In some circumstances, tenants who are 

seniors (62 years or older) or disabled may be entitled to additional 

tenant protections. See Chapter 9, Article 8, Division 7 of the San 

Diego Municipal Code for more information. 

 

(b) A landlord of residential rental property subject to this Division shall include 

a copy of the Tenant Protection Guide with the written notice required by 

section 98.0705(a). 

 

The Commission shall prepare and make available on the Commission’s 

website a Tenant Protection Guide, which shall include educational 

information and resources for the tenant to understand their rights under this 

Division and state law, including the rights to quiet enjoyment and habitability 

of the residential rental property. 

 

(c) For a tenancy in a residential rental property subject to this Division existing 

before June 24, 2023, the notice required by section 98.0705(a) and the 

Tenant Protection Guide required by section 98.0705(b) shall be provided to 

the tenant directly or as an addendum to the lease within 90 days of June 24, 

2023.  

(d) For a tenancy in a residential rental property subject to this Division 

commencing or renewed on or after June 24, 2023, the notice required by 

section 98.0705(a) and the Tenant Protection Guide required by 

section 98.0705(b) shall be included in the lease, or as a written notice signed 

by the tenant at the time the lease is signed, with a copy provided to the 

tenant. 

(“Notice to Tenant of Residential Tenant Protections” added 5-25-2023 by 

O-21647 N.S.; effective 6-24-2023.) 
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§98.0706 Requirements Upon Termination of Tenancy 

(a) Requirements Upon Termination of Tenancy for At-Fault Just Cause. If a 

landlord issues a termination notice for at-fault just cause, the landlord shall 

do the following:  

 

(1) Notice to Tenant. Before a landlord issues a notice to terminate a 

tenancy for at-fault just cause that is a curable lease violation, the 

landlord shall first give written notice of the violation including a 

description of the violation and an opportunity to cure the violation 

under California Code of Civil Procedure section 1161(3), as may be 

amended. If the violation is not cured within the time period in the 

notice, the landlord may terminate the tenancy without another 

opportunity to cure by serving a three-day notice to quit. 

 

(2) Notice to Commission. The landlord shall provide written notice to the 

Commission of the at-fault just cause termination of tenancy under 

section 98.0704(a) no later than three business days after the date the 

landlord provided the required notice to tenant. Section 98.0706(a)(2) 

shall not apply until 30 days after the Commission establishes a 

submission portal and provides the public notice of its creation.  

 

(b) Requirements Upon Termination of Tenancy for No-Fault Just Cause. If a 

landlord issues a termination notice for no-fault just cause, the landlord shall 

do the following: 

(1) Notice to Tenant. The landlord shall give written notice to the tenant 

at least 30 or 60 days prior to the proposed date of termination as 

required by California Civil Code section 1946.1, as may be amended, 

in no less than 12-point font. The written notice shall contain the 

following: 

(A) The landlord shall provide a description of the basis for the 

termination. 

(B) The notice shall state the tenant’s right to relocation assistance 

established in section 98.0706(c) by a direct payment to the 

tenant or rent waiver.  
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(i) If the landlord elects to provide relocation assistance by 

a direct payment to the tenant, the notice shall state the 

amount of relocation assistance available to the tenant 

and that the landlord shall provide the payment within 

15 days from the date of the notice.  

(ii) If the landlord elects to provide relocation assistance by 

rent waiver, the notice shall state the amount of rent 

waived and that no rent is due for the final 

corresponding months of the tenancy. 

(C) The notice shall state the tenant’s right to receive an offer to 

renew the tenancy established in section 98.0706(d) and 

30 days to accept the offer in the event the residential rental 

property is offered again for rent or lease for residential 

purposes within five years of the date the tenant was evicted 

under sections 98.0704(b)(1), (3), or (4), and that to exercise 

such right, the tenant:   

(i) shall notify the landlord in writing within 30 days of 

the termination notice of tenant’s desire to receive an 

offer to renew the tenancy;  

(ii) provide the landlord a mailing address or email address 

for the landlord to send the offer; and  

 

(iii) provide the landlord a change of mailing address or 

email address.  

(2) Notice to Commission. The landlord shall provide written notice to the 

Commission of the no-fault just cause termination of tenancy under 

section 98.0704(b) no later than three business days after the date the 

landlord provided the required notice to tenant. Section 98.0706(b)(2) 

shall not apply until 30 days after the Commission establishes a 

submission portal and provides the public notice of its creation.   

(c) Relocation Assistance for Termination of Tenancy for No-Fault Just Cause.  

(1) The landlord shall, regardless of the tenant’s income or length of 

tenancy and at the landlord’s option, provide relocation assistance to 

the tenant by one of the following:  
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(A) The landlord shall provide a direct payment to the tenant. 

 

(i) Unless section 98.0706(c)(1)(A)(ii) applies, the direct 

payment to the tenant shall be in an amount equal to 

two months of actual rent under the tenant’s lease in 

effect at the date of the notice.  

 

(ii) If the tenant is a senior or disabled, the direct payment 

to the tenant shall be in an amount equal to three 

months of actual rent under the tenant’s lease in effect 

at the date of the notice. 

(B) The landlord shall waive, and not collect the payment by 

tenant, of any currently due or future rent under the tenant’s 

lease at the time of the notice and through the remainder of the 

tenancy in an amount equal to the applicable direct payment as 

set forth in section 98.0706(c)(1)(A). 

(2) When more than one tenant occupies the residential rental property 

and the landlord elects to provide direct payment of relocation 

assistance to the tenants, the landlord may make a single direct 

payment to all the tenants named in the lease. 

 

(3) The relocation assistance required by this Division shall not relieve the 

landlord’s obligation to, and shall be in addition to, the return of any 

deposit or security amounts owed to the tenant.  
 

(4) Any relocation assistance required by this Division shall be credited 

against any other relocation assistance required by any federal, state, 

or other local law. 

 

(5) If a tenant fails to vacate after the expiration of the notice to terminate 

the tenancy, the actual amount of any relocation assistance provided 

under this Division may be recoverable by landlord as damages in an 

action to recover possession of the residential rental property. 

(d) Additional Requirement Upon Termination of a Tenancy for No-Fault Just 

Cause.  
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If a residential rental property is offered for rent or lease for residential 

purposes within five years of the date the tenant was evicted under 

sections 98.0704(b)(1), (3), or (4), landlord shall first offer to lease the 

residential rental property in writing to the tenant displaced from that unit by 

the no-fault just cause termination if the tenant:   

(1) advised the landlord in writing within 30 days of the termination 

notice of the tenant’s desire to receive an offer to renew the tenancy; 

and  

(2) provided the landlord a mailing address or email address for the 

landlord to send the offer, including any change of mailing address or 

email address.  

The landlord shall have the right to screen the tenant using industry accepted 

methods and shall communicate the minimum screening criteria in the written 

offer for the new tenancy. The tenant shall have 30 days from the date of 

receipt of the offer to accept. 

(e) In addition to other remedies applicable to landlord’s failure to comply with 

this Division, a landlord's failure to strictly comply with section 98.0706 shall 

render void any notice of termination required by section 98.0706. 

(“Requirements Upon Termination of Tenancy” added 5-25-2023 by O-21647 N.S.; 

effective 6-24-2023.) 

 

§98.0707 Buyout Agreements 

It is the purpose and intent of section 98.0707 to regulate buyout agreements to 

increase the fairness of buyout negotiations and agreements, to ensure that tenants 

who enter into buyout agreements are aware of their rights, and to prevent landlords 

from contracting around the legal rights and remedies available to tenants under 

existing law. 

(a) Disclosure Prior to Buyout Offers. Prior to making a buyout offer, the landlord 

shall provide each tenant in a residential rental property a written disclosure 

that shall include the following: 

(1) a statement that the tenant has a right not to enter into a buyout 

agreement; 

(2) a statement that the tenant may choose to consult with an attorney 

before entering into a buyout agreement; 
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(3) a statement that the landlord may not retaliate against the tenant for 

refusing to enter into or negotiate a buyout agreement; 

(4) a statement that all tenants of a residential rental property may refuse 

to receive future buyout offers by providing landlord written notice of 

their refusal, which shall be effective for six months, and all tenants of 

a residential rental property may rescind the refusal to receive future 

buyout offers by providing landlord written notice of the rescission; 

(5) a statement that the tenant is eligible for relocation assistance and the 

amount of the required relocation assistance in section 98.0706(c); 

(6) the names of all people authorized to discuss the buyout offer and enter 

into a buyout agreement on the landlord’s behalf; 

(7) a space for each tenant to sign and write the date the landlord 

provided the tenant with the disclosure; and 

(8) a space for the landlord to sign and write the date on which the 

landlord provided the tenant with the disclosure. 

(b) The landlord shall provide each tenant a fully executed copy of the disclosure 

form within three days of its execution and retain a copy of each signed 

disclosure form for five years, along with a record of the date the landlord 

provided the disclosure to each tenant.  

 

(c) Requirements for Buyout Agreements. The landlord shall comply with the 

following: 

(1) The buyout agreement shall be in writing. 

(2) A copy of the buyout agreement shall be given to each tenant at the 

time the tenant signs the buyout agreement. 

(3) The buyout agreement shall include the following statements in bold 

letters in at least 14-point font in close proximity to the space reserved 

for the signature of the tenant: 

(A) You, the tenant, have a right not to enter into this buyout 

agreement.  
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(B) If you, the tenant, are entitled to relocation assistance under 

federal, state, or local law, a buyout agreement for less than the 

amount of the relocation assistance to which you are entitled 

violates Chapter 9, Article 8, Division 7 of the San Diego 

Municipal Code and is void. 

(C) You, the tenant, may choose to consult with an attorney before 

signing this agreement. 

(4) If the tenant primarily negotiates the buyout agreement or lease, orally 

or in writing, in a non-English language, the landlord shall provide the 

tenant with an English and a translated version of the buyout 

agreement at the same time. 

A buyout agreement that does not strictly comply with all the requirements of 

section 98.0707(c)(1)-(4) shall be void. 

(d) Void Buyout Agreements. Buyout agreements must be for an amount that is 

greater than the amount of relocation assistance available to the tenant in 

section 98.0706(c). A buyout agreement for less than the amount of relocation 

assistance owed to the tenant violates this Division and is void. 

(e) No Waiver. The provisions of section 98.0707 may not be waived by a buyout 

agreement. Any term of a buyout agreement, lease, contract, or other 

agreement which purports to waive or limit a tenant's rights under 

section 98.0707 is contrary to public policy, unenforceable, and void. 

(“Buyout Agreements” added 5-25-2023 by O-21647 N.S.; effective 6-24-2023.)   

 

§98.0708 Retaliation Prohibited 

A landlord shall not retaliate against a tenant for exercising any right provided by 

this Division or seeking the enforcement of this Division. 

(“Retaliation Prohibited” added 5-25-2023 by O-21647 N.S.; effective 6-24-2023.) 

§98.0709 Remedies 

(a) A tenant claiming a violation of this Division may file an action against a 

landlord in a court of competent jurisdiction. 

 

(b) A tenant may seek injunctive relief, equitable relief, and money damages, 

including punitive damages, in a civil action against a landlord for a violation 

of this Division.  
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(c) A tenant may raise, as an affirmative defense, any violation or noncompliance 

with this Division in any action by a landlord to recover possession of a 

residential rental property. 

 

(d) Any attempt by a landlord to recover possession of a residential rental 

property or any actual recovery of possession of a residential rental property 

in violation of this Division shall render the landlord liable to the tenant in a 

civil action for wrongful eviction for damages of not less than three times the 

actual economic damages. 

 

(e) Any landlord who fails to provide relocation assistance as required by 

section 98.0706(c) shall be liable to the tenant in a civil action for not less 

than three times the required relocation assistance and actual economic 

damages. 

 

(f) In the court's discretion, a landlord who attempts to recover possession of a 

residential rental property in material violation of this Division shall be liable 

to the tenant in a civil action for reasonable attorney’s fees and costs. 

 

(g) The remedies under section 98.0709 are cumulative and may be used in 

addition to any other remedies in this Division or at law, statute, or ordinance. 

 

(h) The City may enforce this Division under Chapter 1, Article 2 of this Code, 

including civil and criminal remedies. 

(“Remedies” added 5-25-2023 by O-21647 N.S.; effective 6-24-2023.) 

(Amended 2-27-2024 by O-21769 N.S.; effective 3-28-2024.) 

 

§98.0710 Failure to Comply with Division 

In addition to other remedies applicable to landlord’s failure to comply with this 

Division, a landlord’s failure to comply with any provision of this Division shall 

render void any notice of termination required by this Division.  

(“Failure to Comply with Division” added 2-27-2024 by O-21769 N.S.; effective 

3-28-2024.) 

 


